Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Same-sex spouses: Entitlement to a surviving spouse's pension under the Québec Pension Plan for a death occurring on or after 4 April 1985

Retraite Québec can now consider applications for a surviving spouse's pension for same sex spouses if the death occurred on or after 4 April 1985. We invite those persons who believe they may now be entitled to a pension to file an application. The amendment to the Act respecting the Québec Pension Plan was made in December 2002, so anyone who filed an application in the past should re-apply if the application was rejected simply because same sex spouses were not being recognized at the time.

The Retraite Québec's decision to consider these applications follows a decision by the Court of Appeal concerning the fact that the definition of spouse provided in the Act respecting the Québec Pension Plan must be interpreted in light of theQuébec Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms and therefore must include homosexual couples. Previously, Retraite Québec had only been recognizing the entitlement of same sex spouses to a surviving spouse's pension since an omnibus amendment to Québec legislation that became law in 1999.


12 months of retroactivity

A surviving spouse's pension under the Québec Pension Plan can be paid retroactively for a maximum of 12 months as of the date the application was received or the date the new application is received, for those persons whose claim was rejected in the past. It is therefore in your best interest to apply as soon as possible. A surviving spouse will be entitled to a pension if the deceased contributed sufficiently to the Québec Pension Plan and if the spouse met the requirements to be considered a de facto spouse at the time of the death.


Questions and Answers

My spouse died in 1987. At the time, I called Retraite Québec. I was told that same-sex spouses were not recognized, so I didn't file an application. Will I be penalized?

  • No. whether you filed an application in 1987 or you file one now, the maximum retroactive payment is limited to 12 months as of the new application. You should therefore file your application as soon as possible.

My spouse died in 1980. Can I file an application?

  • No. We recognize same sex spouses for deaths occurring on or after 4 April 1985 only.

My spouse died in 1987. At the time, I filed an application for a surviving spouse's pension and it was rejected. Do I have to file a new application?

  • Yes. If you are entitled to a surviving spouse's pension, Retraite Québec will pay you a retroactive pension for the 12 months preceding the date your new application is received.

Why can't Retraite Québec consider my first application?

  • Old files cannot be reopened. Your first application was rejected and all the recourses possible have since expired. It is the principle of res judicata, that is, matters that have already been decided cannot be raised again. Jurisprudence never has the effect of reconsidering decisions that have already been rendered. However, in order to be fair to those who never filed an application, Retraite Québec has agreed to study applications such as yours if a new application is filed.

Do I have to send documents with my application to prove that we were de facto spouses?

  • If you have documents that prove you were spouses, such as a cohabitation agreement, will etc. it would be best to provide them. If not, Retraite Québec may request such documents.

My spouse died in 1987 but I now have a new spouse. Do I lose my benefits?
  • No. Having a new spouse does not cause you to lose your right to apply for a surviving spouse's pension following the death of your first spouse.

My deceased spouse had a child under age 18. After my spouse died, I continued to care for her child. Can I apply for an orphan's pension?

  • Yes. You could have applied for an orphan's pension immediately following the death. Apply as soon as possible.
  • Top of page

Did you know?

If you are age 65 or over and you receive the maximum retirement pension, the surviving spouse's pension could be reduced to zero, based on the age at which you begin to receive it.

Les conjoints de même sexe admissibles à la rente de conjoint survivant du Régime de rentes du Québec si le décès est survenu le 4 avril 1985 ou après

Retraite Québec accepte désormais de se prononcer sur les demandes de rente de conjoint survivant pour les conjoints de même sexe si le décès est survenu le 4 avril 1985 ou après. Par conséquent, elle invite toute personne qui estime être admissible à la rente en raison de cette modification à présenter une demande. La Loi sur le régime de rentes du Québec ayant été modifiée en décembre 2002, les personnes dont la demande a été refusée à la suite du décès de leur conjoint, pour l'unique raison que les couples de même sexe n'étaient pas reconnus, peuvent présenter une nouvelle demande.

Retraite Québec se conforme ainsi à une décision de la Cour d'appel voulant que la définition de conjoint de fait prévue dans la Loi sur le régime de rentes du Québec, interprétée à la lumière de la Charte québécoise des droits et libertés de la personne, n'exclut pas les couples homosexuels. Rappelons que Retraite Québec reconnaissait l'admissibilité des conjoints de même sexe à la rente de conjoint survivant depuis la modification des lois québécoises en 1999. 

Douze mois de rétroactivité 

La rétroactivité du paiement d'une rente de conjoint survivant du régime de rentes du Québec est limitée par la loi à douze mois à compter de la réception de la demande ou de la nouvelle demande pour ceux dont la réclamation a été refusée dans le passé. Les personnes concernées ont donc intérêt à agir rapidement. Précisons que le conjoint de fait sera admissible à la rente de conjoint survivant si le conjoint décédé avait suffisamment cotisé au Régime de rentes du Québec et s'il peut être reconnu conjoint de fait selon les exigences de la loi en vigueur au moment du décès. 

Questions et réponses 

Mon conjoint est décédé en 1987. À l'époque, j'ai téléphoné à Retraite Québec et on m'a dit que les conjoints de même sexe n'étaient pas reconnus. Je n'ai donc pas fait de demande de rente de conjoint survivant. Est-ce que je suis pénalisé? 

Non. Que vous ayez présenté une demande en 1987 ou maintenant, Retraite Québec vous versera douze mois de rétroactivité à partir de la demande que vous allez présenter aujourd'hui. Ne tardez pas à la faire. 

Mon conjoint est décédé en 1980. Est-ce que je peux faire une demande? 

Non, car Retraite Québec reconnaît les conjoints de même sexe pour les décès survenus le 4 avril 1985 ou après. 

Mon conjoint est décédé en 1987. À l'époque, j'ai présenté une demande de rente de conjoint survivant qui a été refusée. Est-ce que je dois présenter une nouvelle demande? 

Oui. Si vous êtes reconnu comme conjoint survivant, Retraite Québec vous versera douze mois de rétroactivité à partir de la date de votre nouvelle demande.

Pourquoi Retraite Québec ne considère-t-elle pas ma première demande? 

Parce qu'il n'y a pas de « réouverture » des demandes antérieures. Votre demande a été refusée et tous les recours possibles sont échus. C'est le principe de la « chose jugée ». L'évolution de la jurisprudence n'a jamais pour effet de revoir les décisions rendues. Cependant, par souci d'équité envers ceux qui n'avaient pas présenté de demande, Retraite Québec accepte d'étudier votre demande si vous présentez une nouvelle demande. 

Est-ce que je dois envoyer des documents avec ma demande pour prouver que nous étions conjoints de fait? 

Si vous avez des documents qui peuvent servir de preuves tels un contrat de vie commune, un testament, etc., vous avez avantage à les joindre à votre demande; sinon, Retraite Québec pourrait vous les demander.

Depuis le décès de mon conjoint de fait en 1987, j'ai un autre conjoint. Est-ce que je perds mes droits? 

Non. Le fait de vivre avec une autre personne ne vous prive pas de la possibilité de recevoir une rente de conjoint survivant après le décès de votre premier conjoint. 

Ma conjointe de fait décédée avait un enfant de moins de 18 ans. Après son décès, j'ai continué à élever son enfant. Est-ce que je peux demander la rente d'orphelin? 

Oui. Vous auriez pu demander la rente d'orphelin dès le décès de votre conjointe. Faites une demande sans tarder.

 

  • Haut de la page

Le saviez-vous?

Si vous avez 65 ans ou plus et que vous recevez le montant maximal de la rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec, la rente de conjoint survivant pourrait être réduite à zéro, compte tenu de l'âge auquel vous avez commencé à la recevoir.