Contributions to the Québec Pension Plan

Who contributes to the Québec Pension Plan?

You contribute to the Québec Pension Plan if:

  • you are 18 years of age or over, and
  • your employment earnings are greater than the basic exemption of $3500.
Note that...

If you receive a disability pension, you do not contribute to the Plan.


Basic exemption

You must contribute to the Plan if your employment earnings are greater than 3 500 $. The amount of the exemption is reduced if you were not entitled to participate in the Plan for the whole year. This would be the case if you turned 18 during the year. It would also be the case if you began or stopped receiving a disability pension. The amount of the exemption is also reduced for the year of the contributor's death.

How long does the contributory period last?

Whether or not you work, the contributory period in the Québec Pension Plan begins in the month following your 18th birthday, or on 1 January 1966 if you turned 18 before that date.

The contributory period ends at the end of the earliest of the following months:

  • the month preceding the one in which your retirement pension begins
  • the month of your 70th birthday
  • the month of your death.

For disability benefits, the contributory period ends at the end of the month in which you became disabled.

Note that...

Even if the contributory period ends in the month preceding the one in which your retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan begins or the month of your 70th birthday, you must continue to contribute to the Québec Pension Plan as long as you work and your income is greater than the basic exemption of $3500. In return, you will receive a retirement pension supplement.


What months are excluded from the contributory period?

It is possible that certain months will not be taken into account when calculating the contributory period, which could give entitlement to a certain benefits under the Québec Pension Plan or even increase the amount; if they are:

  • months for which you received a disability pension under the Québec Pension Plan or the Canada Pension Plan or an unreduced income replacement indemnity from the Commission des normes, de l’équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST)
  • as of 1966 (the year in which the Québec Pension Plan came into effect), any months for which you received family benefits paid by the Québec government or the Canadian government for a child under 7 or the months for which you were eligible for such benefits but none were payable
  • months for which your earnings were the lowest (up to 15% of the period).
  • Top of page

Did you know?

If you work in Québec, you contribute to the Québec Pension Plan. If you work in another Canadian province, you contribute to the Canada Pension Plan.

Les cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec

Qui cotise au Régime de rentes du Québec?

Vous cotisez au Régime si :

  • vous avez 18 ans ou plus, et
  • vos revenus de travail sont supérieurs à l'exemption générale de 3 500 $.
Notez que...

Si vous recevez une rente d'invalidité, vous ne cotisez plus au Régime.


L'exemption générale

Vous devez cotiser au Régime si vos revenus de travail sont supérieurs à 3 500 $. Le montant de l'exemption est réduit si vous n'avez pas eu le droit de participer au Régime pour l'année complète. C'est le cas si vous avez atteint 18 ans en cours d'année. C'est le cas également si vous avez commencé à recevoir une rente d'invalidité ou si vous avez cessé d'en recevoir une en cours d'année. Le montant de l'exemption est aussi réduit l'année du décès du cotisant.

Combien de temps dure la période de cotisation?

Que vous travailliez ou non, la période de cotisation au Régime de rentes du Québec débute le mois suivant votre 18e anniversaire ou le 1er janvier 1966 si vous avez eu 18 ans avant cette date.

La période de cotisation qui sert à calculer la rente de retraite se termine à la fin du premier des mois suivants :

  • le mois précédant le début du versement de votre rente de retraite
  • le mois de votre 70e anniversaire de naissance
  • le mois de votre décès.
Notez que...

Même si la période de cotisation se termine le mois qui précède celui où votre rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec débute ou le mois de votre 70e anniversaire de naissance, vous devez continuer à cotiser au Régime de rentes du Québec aussi longtemps que vous travaillez et que vos revenus de travail sont supérieurs à l'exemption générale de 3 500 $. Ces cotisations vous donneront droit à une augmentation du montant de votre rente : le supplément à la rente de retraite.


Quels mois sont exclus de la période de cotisation?

Il est possible que certains mois ne soient pas pris en compte dans la période de cotisation, ce qui pourrait avoir comme effet de vous rendre admissible à certaines prestations du Régime de rentes du Québec ou même d'en faire augmenter le montant; il s'agit :

  • des mois pour lesquels vous avez reçu une rente d'invalidité en vertu du Régime de rentes du Québec ou du Régime de pensions du Canada ou une indemnité de remplacement du revenu non réduite de la Commission des normes, de l'équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST)
  • des mois, à compter de 1966 (entrée en vigueur du Régime de rentes du Québec), pour lesquels vous avez reçu des prestations familiales du Québec ou du Canada pour un enfant de moins de 7 ans, ou des mois pour lesquels vous étiez admissible à de telles prestations sans en recevoir le paiement
  • des mois où vos revenus de travail ont été les plus faibles (jusqu'à 15 % de ceux-ci).
  • Haut de la page

Le saviez-vous?

Si vous travaillez au Québec, vous cotisez au Régime de rentes du Québec. Toutefois, si vous travaillez dans une autre province canadienne, vous cotisez au Régime de pensions du Canada.