Retirement pension supplement


Workers who are already receiving a retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan (QPP) and who work  must contribute to the Plan once your earnings exceed the $3500 basic exemption.

These contributions entitle you to an increase in your retirement pension: the retirement pension supplement. No application needs to be filed because we will automatically pay it.

  • The supplement is added to your pension for the rest of your life.
  • The supplement is payable as of 1 January of the year following the one during which you made contributions.
  • The total supplement for 2021 is 0.548% of the earnings on which you contributed during the previous year. Due to the enhancement of the QPP in effect since 2019, the supplement will continue to increase until 2024, the year during which it will be 0.66% of the earnings on which he or she contributed during the previous year.

  • Your pension increases even if you are already receiving the maximum regular pension payable.
  • Your pension continues to increase on a yearly basis as long as you continue to make contributions.
Important

Even if the supplement is payable as of 1 January, it usually takes a few months before we receive from Revenu Québec the information required to calculate it. We will pay the amounts owing retroactive to 1 January.


Example

Louise is receiving a retirement pension of $750 per month. In 2020, her employment earnings were $22 700. She contributes to the Québec Pension Plan based on employment earnings of $19 200 ($22 700 minus the basic exemption of $3500). On 1 January 2021, Louise was be entitled to a supplement of about $9 a month ($19 200 x 0.548% = $105 a year) because of the contributions she made. If she continues to work in the following years, new supplements will be added to her pension for each year worked.

Note that...

If you are receiving a retirement pension under the Canada Pension Plan and you work in Québec, you could receive a retirement pension supplement under the Québec Pension Plan. If you contribute to the Plan, we will automatically pay you the supplement without you having to apply for it. Due to the enhancement of the QPP in effect since 2019, the percentage used to calculate the retirement pension supplement gradually increases from 0.5% to 0.66% of the earnings on which they contributed during the previous year.


My Account tailored to my needs.
Top of page

Le supplément à la rente de retraite

Vous recevez déjà votre rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ)?

Vous pouvez travailler et continuer à la recevoir. Toutefois, vous devez cotiser au Régime dès que vos revenus de travail dépassent l'exemption générale de 3 500 $.

Ces cotisations vous donnent droit à une augmentation de votre rente : le supplément à la rente de retraite. Il n'y a aucune demande à faire, puisque nous vous le verserons automatiquement.

  • Vous recevrez ce supplément à même votre rente pour le reste de votre vie.
  • Le supplément est payable à partir du 1er janvier de l'année suivant celle au cours de laquelle vous avez cotisé.
  • Le supplément total pour l'année 2021 est égal à 0,548 % du revenu sur lequel vous avez cotisé pendant l'année précédente. Grâce à la bonification du RRQ en vigueur depuis 2019, le supplément continue d'augmenter jusqu'en 2024, année au cours de laquelle il sera de 0,66 % du revenu cotisable de l'année précédente.
  • Votre rente sera augmentée même si vous recevez déjà chaque mois la somme maximale.
  • La rente continuera d'augmenter annuellement tant que vous verserez de nouvelles cotisations.
Important

Même si le supplément est payable à partir du 1er janvier, il s'écoule généralement quelques mois avant que nous recevions de Revenu Québec les données requises pour le calculer. Nous vous versons alors sous forme de paiement rétroactif l'augmentation due pour les mois écoulés depuis le 1er janvier.


Exemple

Louise est bénéficiaire d'une rente de retraite de 750 $ par mois. En 2020, son revenu de travail était de 22 700 $. Elle cotise donc au Régime de rentes du Québec sur des revenus de travail de 19 200 $ (22 700 $ moins l'exemption générale de 3 500 $). Le 1er janvier 2021, Louise a eu droit à un supplément d'environ 9 $ par mois (19 200 $ x 0,548 % = 105 $ par année) grâce aux cotisations qu'elle a versées. Si elle continue de travailler au cours des années suivantes, de nouveaux suppléments s'ajouteront alors à sa rente pour chaque année de travail.

Notezque...

Si vous recevez une rente de retraite du Régime de pensions du Canada et que vous travaillez au Québec, vous pourriez recevoir du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) un supplément à votre rente de retraite. En effet, si vous cotisez au RRQ, nous vous verserons automatiquement ce supplément sans que vous ayez à le demander. Grâce à la bonification du RRQ en vigueur depuis 2019, le pourcentage utilisé dans le calcul du supplément à la rente de retraite passe progressivement de 0,5 % à 0,66 % du revenu sur lequel vous avez cotisé l'année précédente.


Avisez-nous de votre changement d'adresse, même si vous êtes inscrit au dépôt direct. Mon dossier adapté à ma réalité
Haut de la page