Régie des rentes du Québec

Supplemental Pension Plans

Several terms are used in talking about supplemental pension plans: pension funds, pension plans, registered pension plans, company plans, etc.

A supplemental pension plan is a written contract by which an employer acting alone or an employer and its employees who are members of the plan are required to contribute to the plan. The contributions are intended to provide the plan's members with retirement income. The income from a pension plan tops off the income received from public plans.

Worth knowing about...

The employer and member contributions are paid into a pension fund. The fund can be thought of as the plan's "bank account."

Transfer instruments

There are three kinds of transfer instruments for supplemental pension plans:

Under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act

The supplemental pension plans in which Québec workers participate are subject to the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (SPP Act). Such plans comprise plans sponsored by employers in the private, municipal and university sectors, and some plans in the parapublic sector, which are under provincial jurisdiction.

Some supplemental pension plans are not subject to the SPP Act, including plans in the Québec public sector (such as the Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan [RREGOP]) and in the federal public sector, as well as private plans in sectors under federal jurisdiction (such as plans for banks). Such plans are subject to a different law applicable to supplemental pension plans.

The Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans, which stems from the SPP Act, governs LIRAs and LIFs whose amounts come from a plan, such as the RREGOP, that is subject to the SPP Act or another Québec law. For details, consult Applicable laws for LIRAs and LIFs.

The Regulation also governs annuity contracts whose amounts come from a pension plan subject to the SPP Act.

Under the supervision of the Régie des rentes du Québec

Supplemental pension plans subject to the SPP Act along with LIRAs, LIFs and pension annuity contracts governed by the Regulation are under the supervision of the Régie. In this capacity, the Régie ensures that the plans are administered and operated in accordance with the SPP Act. The Régie’s main duties are as follows:  

  • register plans, standard contracts for LIRAs and LIFs and any amendments
  • examine the annual information returns
  • verify actuarial valuation reports and termination reports
  • request additional documents and information
  • inspect pension plans
  • inform clients (plan administrators, members and beneficiaries, employers, etc.)
  • provide training to pension committee members.

Under the supervision of another agency

If a plan has workers in Québec and in another Canadian province or territory, it may be under the supervision of another agency, whose supervisory authority is similar to that of the Régie. In such a case, the other agency must act on behalf of the Régie to ensure that the rights of the plan's Québec workers are in conformity with the SPP Act.


  •  Share
  • Top of the page

Régie des rentes du Québec

Régimes complémentaires de retraite

Plusieurs expressions sont utilisées pour parler des régimes complémentaires de retraite : fonds de pension, régime de retraite, régime de pension agréé, régime de l'employeur, etc. 

Un régime complémentaire de retraite est un contrat écrit en vertu duquel l'employeur seul ou l'employeur et les travailleurs qui y participent sont tenus de cotiser. Ces cotisations ont pour but de procurer aux participants un revenu à la retraite. Ce revenu complète celui des régimes publics.


À savoir...

Les cotisations de l'employeur et des participants sont versées à une caisse de retraite. Cette caisse représente le « compte de banque » du régime.


Instruments de transfert

Aux côtés des régimes complémentaires de retraite, il y a les « instruments de transfert » que sont :

Sous l'égide de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite

Les régimes complémentaires de retraite auxquels participent des travailleurs québécois sont régis par la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (Loi RCR). Ces régimes regroupent les régimes d'employeurs des secteurs privé, municipal et universitaire, ainsi que certains régimes du secteur parapublic, dont les activités sont de compétence provinciale.

Exceptions
Certains régimes complémentaires ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi RCR, comme les régimes du secteur public provincial (tel le Régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement du Québec [RREGOP]) et du secteur public fédéral, ainsi que des régimes du secteur privé fédéral (tels les régimes des banques). Ils sont assujettis à une autre loi particulière applicable à un régime complémentaire de retraite.

Le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (Règlement RCR), qui découle de la Loi RCR, régit les CRI et les FRV dont les sommes proviennent d’un régime assujetti à la Loi RCR ou à une autre loi du Québec comme le RREGOP. Pour les détails, voyez notre section sur les lois applicables au CRI ou au FRV.

Le Règlement RCR régit les contrats de rente dont les sommes proviennent d’un régime de retraite assujetti à la Loi RCR.

Sous la surveillance de la Régie des rentes du Québec

Les régimes complémentaires de retraite assujettis à la Loi RCR ainsi que les CRI, les FRV et les contrats de rente régis par le Règlement RCR sont sous la surveillance de la Régie. À ce titre, la Régie s’assure que l’administration et le fonctionnement des régimes sont conformes à la Loi RCR. Ses fonctions consistent notamment à :

  • enregistrer les régimes, les contrats types de CRI et de FRV, ainsi que leurs modifications
  • examiner les déclarations annuelles de renseignements
  • vérifier les rapports d’évaluation actuarielle et les rapports de terminaison
  • demander des documents et des renseignements complémentaires
  • faire l’inspection de régimes
  • renseigner la clientèle (administrateurs de régimes, participants et bénéficiaires, employeurs, etc.)
  • donner de la formation aux membres de comités de retraite.

Sous la surveillance d’un autre organisme

Lorsqu'un régime compte à la fois des travailleurs québécois et des travailleurs d'autres provinces ou territoires au Canada, il est possible que ce régime soit sous la surveillance d'un autre organisme ayant un mandat semblable à celui de la Régie. Dans un tel cas, cet organisme doit s'assurer, au nom de la Régie, que les droits des travailleurs québécois sont conformes à la Loi RCR.

Références

  •  Partager
  • Haut de page