Régie des rentes du Québec

The ABCs of LIRAs

A locked-in retirement account (LIRA) is a specific type of registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) that functions as a savings instrument for retirement. The amounts in an LIRA originate from a supplemental pension plan (pension fund).

Unlike an RRSP...

The funds in an LIRA are locked-in and can only be used to provide a retirement income. Thus, the amounts cannot be withdrawn, except under certain circumstances in which a refund from your LIRA is permitted.

Like an RRSP..

You can hold an LIRA until 31 December of the year in which you reach age 71. Before that date, you can transfer your LIRA to another LIRA, for example, if you change financial institutions. You can also transfer your life income fund (LIF) to an LIRA, in particular when you want to postpone payment of a retirement income.

Consult the list of financial institutions offering LIRAs or LIFs to find out what transfer instruments are available.

If you wish to receive a retirement income

Your LIRA cannot be used to pay you a retirement income. To receive an income, you must transfer your LIRA:

  • to an LIF
    or
  • to an insurer for the purchase of a life annuity

There is no minimum age to make this type of transfer. However, the transfer could be delayed if your investments have not come to maturity at the date you request it. Don't forget that you must make the transfer before the end of the year in which you reach age 71, regardless of when your investments mature.

To find out more

  •  Share
  • Top of the page

L'abc du CRI

Le compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) est un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) particulier, puisqu'il est un instrument d'épargne pour la retraite. Les sommes qu'il contient proviennent initialement d'un régime complémentaire de retraite (« fonds de pension »).

À la différence du REER...

L'argent contenu dans votre CRI est immobilisé, car il doit servir à vous procurer un revenu à la retraite. Cet argent ne peut donc pas être retiré, sauf dans certaines circonstances où un remboursement du CRI est permis.

Comme pour le REER...

Vous pouvez avoir un CRI jusqu'au 31 décembre de l'année où vous atteignez 71 ans. Avant cette date, vous pouvez transférer votre CRI dans un autre CRI, par exemple si vous changez d'établissement financier. Vous pouvez aussi transférer votre fonds de revenu viager (FRV) dans un CRI, notamment lorsque vous voulez reporter le versement d'un revenu de retraite.

Voyez la liste des établissements financiers offrant des CRI ou des FRV. Elle vous permet de connaître les CRI et FRV disponibles sur le marché.

Que faire pour obtenir un revenu de retraite?

Votre CRI ne peut pas servir à vous verser un revenu de retraite. Pour en obtenir un, vous devez transférer votre CRI :

  • dans un FRV
  • ou
  • chez un assureur pour acheter une rente viagère

Il n'y pas d'âge minimal pour faire un tel transfert. Toutefois, si vos placements ne sont pas arrivés à échéance, le transfert peut être retardé. N'oubliez pas que vous devez faire le transfert avant la fin de l'année où vous atteignez 71 ans, peu importe l'échéance de vos placements.

Pour en savoir plus

  • Haut de la page