Régie des rentes du Québec

The ABCs of LIFs

A life income fund (LIF) is a specific type of registered retirement income fund (RRIF) from which you can draw a retirement income (payment). The amounts in an LIF originate from a supplemental pension plan (pension fund).

Unlike an RRIF, which has no withdrawal ceiling, you cannot withdraw from an LIF more than the maximum authorized for the year.

Like an RRIF, you must withdraw the minimum required under tax rules. You are not required to make a withdrawal during the year in which the LIF is opened.

Types of income from your LIF

You can draw a life income from your LIF . In addition, it is possible to draw a temporary income from your LIF, if this option is provided for in your LIF contract.

You can begin drawing a life income at any age. Some conditions apply with regard to a temporary income.

Under certain circumstances, you can obtain a refund of your LIF.

Transferring your LIF

  • You can transfer your LIF to an LIRA at any time until the end of the year in which you reach age 71, for example, if you wish to postpone payment of a retirement income. However, the transfer could be delayed if your investments have not come to maturity on the date you request the transfer.
  • You can also transfer your LIF to another LIF during the year, for example, if you change financial institutions. However, the transfer could be delayed if your investments have not come to maturity on the date you request the transfer.

    Important ...


    The amounts transferred from your first LIF cannot be used to provide you with a life income until the beginning of the following year. Be sure to withdraw all the amounts you want for the rest of the year before making the transfer.

    The same rule applies to payment of a temporary income, unless you are under age 54 and still meet the conditions for entitlement to a temporary income. If you meet those conditions, an amount can be paid to you, even if your LIF was transferred during the same year.


  • You can also transfer an amount from your LIF to an RRSP or RRIF.

Consult the list of financial institutions offering LIRAs or LIFs to find out what transfer instruments are available.

To find out more...

  •  Share
  • Top of the page 

Did you know that?

A life income fund (LIF) is payable until death!
LIF Quick Calc - Determining how much you can withdraw from your LIF in 2014 has never been easier!

L'abc du FRV

Le fonds de revenu viager (FRV) est un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR) particulier, puisqu'il est un instrument utilisé pour tirer un revenu de retraite (décaissement). Les sommes qu'il contient proviennent initialement d'un régime complémentaire de retraite (« fonds de pension »).

À la différence du FERR, dans lequel il n'existe aucun plafond, le FRV ne permet pas de retirer plus que le maximum autorisé chaque année.

Comme pour le FERR, vous devez retirer le minimum prescrit par les règles fiscales. Ce minimum est de 0 $ l'année d'ouverture du FRV.

Les revenus de votre FRV

Votre FRV vous permet de tirer un revenu viager. De plus, si votre FRV le prévoit, il est possible d'en tirer un revenu temporaire.

Vous pouvez commencer à tirer un revenu viager à n'importe quel âge. Dans le cas d'un revenu temporaire, certaines conditions s'appliquent.

Dans des circonstances particulières, vous pouvez obtenir un remboursement de votre FRV.

Vous désirez transférer votre FRV

  • Vous pouvez transférer votre FRV dans un CRI en tout temps jusqu'à la fin de l'année au cours de laquelle vous atteignez 71 ans, par exemple si vous voulez reporter le versement d'un revenu de retraite. Le transfert peut cependant être retardé si vos placements ne sont pas arrivés à échéance au moment où vous faites votre demande de transfert
  • Vous pouvez aussi transférer votre FRV dans un autre FRV en cours d'année, par exemple si vous changez d'établissement financier. Le transfert peut cependant être retardé si vos placements ne sont pas arrivés à échéance au moment où vous faites votre demande de transfert.

    Important


    Les sommes transférées du premier FRV ne peuvent plus vous procurer de revenu viager avant le début de l'année suivante. Assurez-vous de retirer les sommes désirées pour le reste de l'année avant de faire le transfert.

    La même règle s'applique au versement du revenu temporaire, sauf si vous avez moins de 54 ans et que vous continuez de satisfaire aux conditions requises pour avoir droit au revenu temporaire. En effet, si vous remplissez ces conditions, une somme peut vous être versée même si votre FRV a fait l'objet d'un transfert au cours de la même année.


  • Vous pouvez aussi transférer une somme de votre FRV à un REER ou à un FERR.

Voyez la liste des établissements financiers offrant des CRI ou des FRV. Elle vous permet de connaître les CRI et FRV disponibles sur le marché.

Pour en savoir plus

  • Haut de la page

Le saviez-vous?

« Viager » signifie: la vie durant!

FRV Calcul Express - Calculez les revenus d'un FRV en 2018.