Income from your LIF: age matters

You can begin drawing a life income from your LIF at any age. However, some conditions apply for a temporary income.

Remember: the earlier you begin drawing an income, the sooner you will use up your savings!

If you are under age 54

You have 2 options: life income and temporary income.

You can draw a life income at any time.

You can also draw a temporary income each year if your LIF offers that option. To be entitled to a temporary income, you must:

  • be under age 54 on 31 December of the year preceding your application
  • have only one LIF
  • not have income exceeding 40% of the maximum pensionable earnings (MPE), that is, $22 960, in the 12 months following the application for a temporary income, if you file an application in 2019.

    Income includes any amounts received in the form of salary or wages, interest or benefits, or in any other form (before tax), such as employment insurance benefits, Old Age Security benefits, an indemnity from the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST), an indemnity from the Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ), interest income, bursaries or scholarships, disability insurance, or other. Income does not include any amounts received on behalf of others, such as the Family Allowance or support payments.

Your application for a temporary income is valid only for the year in which it is filed.

If you are between age 54 and 64

You have two options: life income and temporary income.

You can draw a life income at any time.

You can also draw a temporary income each year if your LIF offers that option, regardless of your employment income. To be entitled to a temporary income, you must be at least 54 years of age and less than 65 years of age on 31 December of the year preceding your application.

Your application for temporary income is valid only for the year in which it is filed.

If you are age 65 or over

You have only one option: a life income.

You can draw a life income from your LIF, but you can no longer obtain a temporary income if you are age 65 or over as of 31 December of the year preceding your application. As of age 65, you can generally begin receiving a pension under the Québec Pension Plan and, depending on your date of birth, an Old Age Security pension.

Beware of fraudulent withdrawals

We urge you to be wary of classified ads that propose various tax-free ways to withdraw money from your LIRA or LIF, such as by purchasing stock shares or taking out a loan. Those methods are fraudulent. They can have significant tax effects, and you could lose your money. To find out more, please consult the Fraud in classified ads This link will open in a new window. section on the Autorité des marches financiers du Québec's Web site.

For more information

  • Top of page

Les revenus de votre FRV : une question d'âge

Vous pouvez commencer à tirer un revenu viager de votre FRV à n'importe quel âge. Dans le cas d'un revenu temporaire, certaines conditions s'appliquent.

Rappelez-vous que plus vous commencez jeune à tirer un revenu, plus votre épargne s'épuise vite!

Si vous êtes âgé de moins de 54 ans

Deux options : revenu viager et revenu temporaire

Vous pouvez tirer un revenu viager en tout temps.

Vous pouvez aussi tirer un revenu temporaire chaque année si votre FRV vous offre cette option. Pour avoir droit à ce revenu, vous devez :

  • avoir moins de 54 ans le 31 décembre de l'année précédant votre demande
  • posséder un seul FRV
  • avoir des revenus qui ne dépasseront pas 40 % du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA), soit 22 960 $, au cours des 12 mois qui suivent votre demande, si vous faites cette demande en 2019

    Vos revenus comprennent toute somme perçue sous forme de salaire, d'intérêt, de rente ou autre (avant impôts), cela incluant : les prestations de l'assurance-emploi, de la sécurité du revenu, de la Commission des normes, de l'équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST) et de la Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ), les revenus d'intérêts, les bourses et l'assurance salaire, etc. Sont exclus : vos revenus perçus pour les tiers, tels que l'Allocation famille et les pensions alimentaires pour les enfants.

Votre demande de revenu temporaire n'est valide que pour l'année en cours.

Si vous êtes âgé de 54 à 64 ans

Deux options : revenu viager et revenu temporaire

Vous pouvez tirer un revenu viager en tout temps.

Vous pouvez aussi tirer un revenu temporaire chaque année si votre FRV vous offre cette option, quels que soient vos revenus de travail. Pour avoir droit à ce revenu, vous devez avoir au moins 54 ans et moins de 65 ans le 31 décembre de l'année précédant votre demande.

Votre demande de revenu temporaire n'est valide que pour l'année en cours.

Si vous êtes âgé de 65 ans ou plus

Une seule option : revenu viager

Vous pouvez tirer un revenu viager de votre FRV, mais vous ne pouvez plus en tirer de revenu temporaire si vous avez 65 ans ou plus le 31 décembre de l'année précédant votre demande. À compter de 65 ans, vous pouvez généralement recevoir votre rente du Régime de rentes du Québec et, selon votre date de naissance, la pension de la Sécurité de la vieillesse.

Mise en garde contre les retraits frauduleux

Nous vous conseillons de demeurer vigilants quant aux petites annonces proposant divers moyens d'encaisser l'argent de votre CRI ou de votre FRV sans payer d'impôt, comme l'achat d'actions ou un prêt. Ces moyens sont frauduleux. Ils peuvent avoir des incidences fiscales importantes en plus d'entraîner la perte de votre argent. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez la section Fraude dans les petites annonces Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du site Web de l'Autorité des marchés financiers du Québec.

Pour en savoir plus

  • Haut de la page