Factors to consider before applying for your retirement pension

Should you apply sooner or later for your retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan? For certain people, it is advantageous to apply for this pension at age 60. For others, it may be more advantageous to apply later. To determine what is most beneficial to you, there are a number of personal factors to consider.

5 general factors:

Make sure that your retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan, your Old Age Security pension, your pension plan and your personal savings are sufficient to maintain your standard of living in retirement. It is better to postpone when you leave the labour force and when you apply for your retirement pension under the QPP until you are sure that your financial assets or your pensions are sufficient to meet your needs for the rest of your life. Think about it, you could be retired for 30 years!

If you are in good health, have healthy life habits and do not have any hereditary predisposition that could reduce your life expectancy, you would benefit, in most cases, from postponing your application for a retirement pension under the QPP. On the other hand, if you have health problems that reduce your life expectancy, you would benefit from applying for your pension at an earlier age.

Taxation has a significant impact on your income. For example, the taxes you will have to pay on your employment earnings could be higher if you receive your retirement pension and continue working (higher marginal tax rate). This could reduce the net income that you will receive from working.

If you expect to be eligible for the Guaranteed Income Supplement This link will open in a new window. (GIS) offered by the Government of Canada at age 65, it could be advantageous for you to apply for your retirement pension under the QPP at an earlier age given that, even if your pension amount is reduced, part of the reduction will be compensated by the GIS. Therefore, the amount of income you will receive throughout your retirement could be higher. Please note that your spouse's income is taken into account in the calculation of the GIS amount and you may not be entitled to it even if your personal retirement income is modest.

If you have personal retirement savings, it could be wise to postpone your application for a retirement pension under the QPP. Your personal retirement savings could be used to meet your needs during the first months or years of your retirement, before receiving your pension under the QPP. By waiting longer, you will obtain an increased amount and you will increase, for the rest of your life, the part of your future income, which is for life, guaranteed and fully indexed based on inflation.

Applying for your retirement pension: an important decision!

The retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan (QPP) is part of the 3 sources of retirement income:

  • The Government of Canada's Old Age Security program
  • the Québec Pension Plan 
  • workplace pension plans and personal savings.

The age at which you choose to start receiving it is a decision that will influence your income for the rest of your life.

To help you make the best decision, a number of options are available to you:

  • Use the SimulR tool to calculate your retirement saving needs, and to obtain an estimate of the amount of your retirement pension under the QPP according to different scenarios based on age.
  • Use the CompuPension tool to obtain an estimate of the value of your retirement pension under the QPP between ages 60 and 70, based on the contributions that you made to the QPP.
  • Consult or ask for your Statement of Participation.
  • Consult a financial planner. When the time is right for you to apply for you retirement pension, use My Account.
New notification service. Follow the progress of your application for a retirement pension under the QPP by text message or email. Start My Account.

Other useful links

Top of page

Facteurs à considérer avant de demander sa rente de retraite

Est-il préférable d'anticiper ou de retarder votre demande de rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec? Pour certaines personnes, il est avantageux de demander cette rente dès 60 ans, tandis que pour d'autres, il serait plus avantageux de la demander plus tard. Pour déterminer ce qui est le plus avantageux pour vous, il faut considérer différents facteurs personnels.

5 facteurs généraux :

Assurez-vous que les revenus provenant du Régime de rentes du Québec, du programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse, de votre fonds de pension et de votre épargne personnelle seront suffisants pour maintenir votre niveau de vie à la retraite. Il est préférable de reporter votre sortie du marché du travail et votre demande de rente de retraite du RRQ tant que vous n'êtes pas sûr que vos actifs financiers ou vos rentes seront suffisamment élevés pour subvenir à vos besoins durant le reste de votre vie. Pensez-y, vous pourriez être à la retraite pendant 30 ans!

Si vous êtes en bonne santé, que vous avez de saines habitudes de vie et que vous n'avez aucune prédisposition héréditaire réduisant la durée attendue de votre vie, vous auriez avantage, dans la majorité des cas, à reporter votre demande de rente de retraite du RRQ. Inversement, si vous avez des problèmes de santé qui réduisent la durée attendue de votre vie, vous auriez avantage à demander votre rente à un âge plus précoce.

La fiscalité a des incidences non négligeables sur votre revenu. Par exemple, l'impôt que vous aurez à payer sur votre revenu de travail pourrait être plus élevé si vous recevez votre rente de retraite en plus de travailler (taux marginal d'imposition plus élevé). Ceci pourrait ainsi réduire le revenu net que vous obtiendrez de votre travail.

Si à 65 ans vous prévoyez être admissible au Supplément de revenu garanti Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (SRG) offert par le gouvernement du Canada, il pourrait être avantageux pour vous de demander votre rente de retraite du RRQ à un âge plus précoce, car même si le montant de votre rente est réduit, une partie de la réduction de celle-ci sera compensée par le SRG. Ainsi, la somme des revenus que vous obtiendrez durant toute votre retraite pourrait être plus élevée. Notez que le revenu de votre conjoint est pris en compte dans l'évaluation du montant de SRG et que vous pourriez ne pas y avoir droit même si vos revenus de retraite personnels sont modestes.

Si vous possédez de l'épargne-retraite privée, il pourrait être judicieux pour vous de reporter votre demande de rente de retraite du RRQ. En effet, votre épargne-retraite privée pourrait être utilisée pour subvenir à vos besoins durant les premiers mois ou les premières années de votre retraite, avant de recevoir votre rente du RRQ. En retardant la demande de celle-ci, vous obtiendrez un montant bonifié et vous augmenterez, pour le reste de votre vie, la part de vos revenus futurs qui est viagère, garantie et pleinement indexée selon l'inflation.

Demander sa rente de retraite : une décision importante!

La rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) fait partie des 3 sources de revenu à la retraite :

  • Programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse du gouvernement du Canada
  • Régime de rentes du Québec
  • Régimes de retraite offerts par l'employeur, et épargne personnelle.

L'âge que vous choisissez pour commencer à la recevoir est une décision qui influencera vos revenus pour le reste de votre vie.

Pour vous aider à prendre la meilleure solution, plusieurs options s'offrent à vous :

  • Utilisez l'outil SimulR pour calculer vos besoins en épargne pour la retraite ainsi que pour avoir une estimation du montant de votre rente de retraite du RRQ selon différents scénarios en fonction de l'âge
  • Utilisez l'outil SimulRetraite pour accéder à l'estimation de la valeur de votre rente de retraite du RRQ entre 60 et 70 ans selon vos propres cotisations inscrites à votre nom au RRQ
  • Consultez ou demandez votre relevé de participation
  • Consultez un planificateur financier.

Si c'est le bon moment pour vous de demander votre rente de retraite, utilisez Mon dossier.

Nouveau service de notification! Suivez par texto ou par courriel le cheminement de votre demande de rente de retraite du RRQ. Démarrer Mon dossier.

Autres liens utiles

Haut de la page