Member-funded pension plan

A member-funded pension plan (MFPP) is a defined benefit plan under which:

  • the employer contribution is set in advance
  • the remaining contributions required (including payments for any deficits) are paid by the plan members
  • any surplus assets belong to the plan members

Plan funding

To limit the financial risk for plan members, an MFPP is funded as if the pensions of active and non-active members were fully indexed. However, full indexation cannot actually be granted unless the MFPP has surplus assets and will still be fully funded and solvent after indexing is carried out.

Improvements

If an MFPP still has surplus assets after full indexation of the members' pensions, the plan can be improved if it will still be fully funded and solvent after the improvement comes into effect.

Such improvements can, for example, take the form of increased pension benefits or a reduction in member contributions.

Information for members

Since the members of an MFPP pay the balance of the plan's cost, they must be well informed on the inherent financial risk. For that reason, there are specific rules concerning the information that must be provided to them.

Coming into force of the MFPP regulation: 15 March 2007.

Prospective clients

Although MFPPs are not aimed at specific group, they should be of particular interest to unionized workers. Workers' associations have indicated their members want to have access to a defined benefit plan. Moreover, at a time when employers are increasingly reticent about assuming the financial risks of defined benefit plans, workers' groups say that they are ready to take on such risks. The new MFPP responds to the concerns of both groups in that the plan members collectively assume the ultimate financial responsibility for the plan.

To find out more...

You can consult the text of the MFPP regulation, which was published on 28 February 2007, in the Gazette officielle du Québec, Part 2 - Laws and Regulations, page 1064, on the Publications du Québec This link will open in a new window. Web site.

  • Top of page

Practical corner

Régime de retraite par financement salarial

Le régime de retraite par financement salarial (RRFS) est un régime à prestations déterminées où :

  • la cotisation de l'employeur est fixée à l'avance
  • le solde des cotisations à verser (y compris les paiements pour déficits, le cas échéant) est à la charge des participants
  • l'excédent d'actif (ou surplus), le cas échéant, est attribué aux participants

Financement du régime

Afin de limiter le risque financier pour les participants, le RRFS est financé comme si les rentes des participants actifs et non actifs étaient pleinement indexées. Mais cette pleine indexation ne peut leur être accordée que si le RRFS est en excédent d'actif et qu'il demeure pleinement capitalisé et solvable après l'application de cette indexation.

Améliorations au régime

Si le RRFS est toujours en excédent d'actif après avoir indexé pleinement les rentes des participants, il peut être amélioré à la condition de demeurer capitalisé et solvable après l'amélioration.

Ces améliorations peuvent consister par exemple en une bonification des rentes ou encore en une réduction des cotisations salariales.

Information aux participants

Étant donné que les participants à un RRFS sont responsables du solde du coût du régime, ils doivent être bien informés du risque financier que cela implique. C'est pourquoi des règles particulières sont prévues quant à l'information à leur fournir.

Entrée en vigueur du règlement sur le RRFS : 15 mars 2007

Clientèle potentielle

Bien que le RRFS ne s'adresse pas à une clientèle précise, il devrait intéresser tout particulièrement les travailleurs syndiqués. D'une part, des associations de travailleurs expriment le désir de leurs membres d'adhérer à un régime à prestations déterminées. D'autre part, des employeurs deviennent réticents à assumer le risque financier d'un tel régime, alors que des groupes de travailleurs se disent prêts à cela. Le RRFS répond à ces préoccupations car, dans ce nouveau type de régime, les participants assument collectivement la responsabilité financière du régime.

Pour en savoir plus...

Vous pouvez consulter le texte du règlement publié le 28 février 2007 dans la Gazette officielle du Québec à la page 1342, sous Partie 2 - Lois et Règlements du site des Publications du Québec Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

  • Haut de la page

Coin pratique