Flash Retirement

Retirement Savings and Income Vehicles—Make an Informed Choice!

Plans to Help You Save for Retirement

  • Employer-Sponsored Private Pension Plans

    You'll find all the information you need on this type of plan in the Flash Retirement information capsule Private Pension Plans.
  • Individual and Spousal Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs)

    You'll find all the information you need on this type of plan in the Flash Retirement information capsule Everything You Need to Know About RRSPs.
  • Locked-In Registered Retirement Savings Plans

    Locked-in RRSPs are a type of RRSP account to which you can only transfer funds from a supplemental pension plan (pension fund). The term "locked-in" means the amounts invested can only be used to provide a retirement pension. The following conditions also apply:
    • You must convert the funds invested in your locked-in RRSP into a retirement income vehicle by December 31 of the year you turn 71.
    • The regulatory agency that oversees your supplemental pension plan may have certain restrictions as to the locked-in RRSPs to which you can transfer funds. If you're subject to Québec law (Supplemental Pension Plans Act), the vehicle offered to you will be a locked-in retirement account (LIRA).
  • Locked-in Retirement Accounts

    LIRAs first became available in 1991. They are similar to locked-in RRSPs, and funds can only be transferred from:
    • Another LIRA
    • A life income fund (LIF)
    • A supplemental pension plan (SPP)
    • An annuity contract made up of funds transferred from a supplemental pension plan

More about LIRAs:

  • You can withdraw funds from your LIRA in whole or in part if you provide your financial institution with a medical certificate attesting to a physical or mental disability that reduces your life expectancy.
  • You must convert the funds invested in your LIRA by December 31 of the year you turn 71.

You can transfer funds from a supplemental pension plan to a LIRA if they're not locked in. After the transfer, however, the funds are locked in.

For more information on LIRAs, see the Flash Retirement information capsule Using Your Money Wisely During Retirement.

Main Vehicles Used to Draw a Retirement Income

  • Registered Retirement Income Funds (RRIFs)

    An RRIF is another option that can provide a retirement income. Only amounts accumulated in the following vehicles can be transferred to an RRIF:
    • An individual or group RRSP
    • A supplemental pension plan
    • Another RRIF
    • A portion of a life income fund, subject to some restrictions

    RRIFs allow you to progressively withdraw funds each year according to the minimum prescribed by tax law. There is no ceiling on withdrawals.

More about RRIFs

  • RRIF withdrawals are taxable, according to certain rules.
  • They may be self-directed. The rules are generally the same as for self-directed RRSPs.
  • Some conditions may apply to RRIFs to which you can transfer locked-in sums originating in a supplemental pension plan, depending on the regulatory agency that monitors them. If you're subject to Québec law (Supplemental Pension Plans Act), the vehicle available to you is a life income fund (LIF).
  • You can not contribute to an RRIF in your spouse's name. What is commonly known as a "spousal RRIF" is actually an RRIF converted from a spousal RRSP.
  • Life Income Funds

    An LIF is a specific type of RRIF that can be funded only by savings transferred from:
    • Another LIF
    • An LIRA
    • A supplemental pension plan
    • An annuity contract made up of funds transferred from a supplemental pension plan


More About LIFs

  • Funds from an LIF can provide two types of income: a life income or, under certain conditions, a temporary income
  • A life income is a source of retirement income; you can draw from your LIF every year until you die.
  • You must withdraw the minimum prescribed by tax law (like with an RRIF). However, since the savings in your LIF will have to sustain you for the rest of your life, there is also a ceiling on how much you can withdraw per year, which may change annually. Despite the ceiling, an LIF can run out before you die.
  • Since 1998, an additional LIF income has been available, called a temporary income. However, your LIF must offer this option, and you have to apply to your financial institution every year. For 2019, temporary incomes cannot exceed $22 960.
  • LIF withdrawals are taxable, according to certain rules.

For information on LIFs, see the Flash Retirement information capsule Using Your Money Wisely During Retirement.

  • Annuities Purchased from an Insurer

    For a certain amount, an insurer can guarantee you a pension, beginning immediately or at a later date. What you should know:
    • A number of options may be available, such as with regard to death benefits and guarantees.
    • If the funds you want to use to guarantee the annuity are locked-in, the options may be more limited. For example, you will not be able to take out a fixed-term annuity (also called an annuity certain).
    • Annuity benefits are taxable.
    • A life annuity can be purchased only from an insurance company.
    • A fixed-term annuity can be purchased from an insurance company or other financial institutions.
  • Pension Drawn Directly from a Supplemental Pension Plan

    If you have a defined benefit pension plan and are within 10 years of the normal retirement age set out in your plan, your only option may be to draw a pension directly from the plan.

    This pension can take a variety of forms, such as a 0, 5, or 10 year guaranteed income or a survivor annuity for you spouse after your death (a pension of equal or lesser value than the amount you were receiving before you died).

Worth knowing about...

  • With the exception of employer-sponsored private pension plans, retirement savings and income vehicles are available at most financial institutions in Québec (banks, trust companies, insurance companies, caisses Desjardins, etc.).
  • For more information on RRSPs or RRIFs, see the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Web site at www.cra.gc.ca This link will open in a new window., in the section "Individuals – Registered Savings Plans", or ask your financial institution.
  • The Income Tax Act makes no restrictions for locking in RRSPs or RRIFs. CRA's approval is not required to cancel a locked-in account. If you have questions, contact the regulatory agency that oversees your pension plan. If you're subject to Québec law (Supplemental Pension Plans Act), the regulatory agency is Retraite Québec.
  • LIRAs and LIFs are subject to the Income Tax Act as well as the Québec Supplemental Pension Plans Act and are therefore overseen by Retraite Québec. More information and a list of institutions that offer LIRAs and LIFs are available at www.retraitequebec.gouv.qc.ca under "Programs - Supplemental pension plans" or from your financial institution.
  • If you're 65 or over, you can withdraw some or all of your LIRA or LIF as long as the total amount saved in the retirement savings vehicles listed below does not exceed 40% of the maximum pensionable earnings in the year you apply. In 2019, the maximum is $22 960. This applies to:
    • LIRAs
    • LIFs
    • Locked-in RRSPs
    • Defined contribution pension plans (or the defined contribution component of your supplemental pension plan)
  • At some financial institutions, if both parties (the institution and the client) agree to lock in an investment for a specific period at the time of purchase, the investment is called a "locked-in RRSP." However, since the funds are not from an actual pension plan, they can be used for other purposes than as a retirement income.
  • When purchasing an annuity from an insurer, it's best to shop around since amounts can vary widely from one company to the next. It's also important to make sure the company is stable and offers first-rate service.

This text is intended exclusively to provide general information on financial security at retirement. This information may not be appropriate to the reader who wishes to obtain particular information on one of the treated subjects and cannot be a guarantee for results. It is up to the reader to make pertinent expert advice requests. This information capsule does not bind partner providers of these information.

© All rights reserved, flash Retirement

Accessibility

Flash Retraite

Choisissez vos véhicules d'épargne-retraite et de décaissement en toute connaissance de cause!

Régimes qui vous permettent d'épargner en vue de la retraite

  • Régimes privés de retraite parrainés par votre employeur

    Vous trouverez toute l'information dont vous avez besoin sur ces régimes dans la capsule Les régimes privés de retraite de flash Retraite.
  • Régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) individuel et REER de conjoint

    Vous trouverez toute l'information dont vous avez besoin sur ces régimes dans la capsule Tout ce que vous devez savoir sur les REER de flash Retraite.
  • Régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite immobilisé

    Le REER immobilisé est un compte REER dans lequel vous pouvez transférer seulement les sommes provenant d'un régime complémentaire de retraite (fonds de pension). Le terme " immobilisé " signifie que l'argent investi doit servir exclusivement à vous procurer un revenu à la retraite. Voici quelques particularités :
    • Vous devrez convertir en un produit de revenu de retraite les sommes investies dans votre REER immobilisé avant le 31 décembre de l'année au cours de laquelle vous aurez 71 ans.
    • L'organisme de réglementation qui supervise votre régime complémentaire de retraite peut prévoir certaines restrictions quant au REER immobilisé dans lequel vous pouvez transférer vos sommes. Si vous êtes assujetti à la loi du Québec (la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite), c'est le compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) qui vous sera offert.
  • Compte de retraite immobilisé

    Le CRI est disponible depuis 1991. Il est semblable à un REER immobilisé et vous ne pouvez y transférer que des sommes provenant d'un :
    • autre CRI
    • fonds de revenu viager (FRV)
    • régime complémentaire de retraite
    • contrat de rente dont la rente est constituée de capital provenant d'un régime complémentaire de retraite.

    Voici quelques particularités à connaître :

    • Vous pouvez retirer une partie ou la totalité de votre CRI si vous présentez à l'établissement financier un certificat médical qui atteste qu'une invalidité physique ou mentale réduit votre espérance de vie.
    • Vous devrez convertir les sommes investies dans votre CRI avant le 31 décembre de l'année au cours de laquelle vous aurez 71 ans.

    Vous pouvez transférer des sommes non immobilisées d'un régime complémentaire de retraite dans un CRI. Par contre, ces sommes deviennent alors immobilisées.

    Vous trouverez d'autres caractéristiques du CRI dans la capsule Pour une utilisation judicieuse de vos actifs à la retraite de flash Retraite.

Principaux véhicules de décaissement offerts pour retirer un revenu de votre épargne-retraite

  • Fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR)

    Le FERR est une option de revenu de retraite. Seules des sommes accumulées dans les instruments suivants peuvent être transférées dans un FERR :
    • un REER individuel ou collectif
    • un régime complémentaire de retraite
    • un autre FERR
    • une partie de la somme retirée d'un fonds de revenu viager, selon certaines conditions.

    Le FERR vous permet de retirer progressivement ces sommes chaque année selon le minimum prescrit par les règles fiscales. Il n'y a pas de limite maximale pour ces retraits.

    Autres particularités du FERR

    • Les retraits du FERR sont imposables, selon les règles applicables.
    • Il peut être autogéré. Dans ce cas, les règles sont généralement les mêmes que celles qui s'appliquent aux REER autogérés.
    • Les FERR dans lesquels vous pouvez transférer des sommes immobilisées d'un régime complémentaire de retraite peuvent comporter certaines restrictions selon l'organisme de réglementation qui les supervise. Si vous êtes assujetti à la loi du Québec (la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite), c'est le fonds de revenu viager qui vous sera offert.
    • Vous ne pouvez pas cotiser à un FERR au nom de votre conjoint. Ce qui est appelé communément " FERR au profit du conjoint " est en fait un FERR qui a été établi à partir d'un REER au profit du conjoint.
  • Fonds de revenu viager

Le FRV est un FERR particulier dans lequel vous pouvez transférer seulement les sommes provenant d'un :

  • autre FRV
  • CRI
  • régime complémentaire de retraite
  • contrat de rente dont la rente est constituée de capital provenant d'un régime complémentaire de retraite.


Autres particularités du FRV

  • Les sommes provenant d'un FRV peuvent servir à retirer 2 types de revenus : un revenu viager ou, selon certaines conditions, un revenu temporaire.
  • Le revenu viager est le revenu de retraite que vous pouvez recevoir de votre FRV, tous les ans, jusqu'à votre décès.
  • Vous devez retirer le minimum prescrit par les règles fiscales (le même que pour un FERR). Cependant, puisque les sommes contenues dans votre FRV doivent être suffisantes pour vous procurer un revenu jusqu'à votre décès, il y a un maximum que vous pouvez retirer par année. Ce maximum peut changer annuellement. Malgré ce maximum, il est possible que le FRV s'épuise avant le décès.
  • Depuis 1998, il est possible de retirer d'un FRV un revenu additionnel appelé le revenu temporaire. Pour l'obtenir, il faut que votre contrat de FRV offre cette option, et vous devez en faire la demande tous les ans à votre établissement financier. Le revenu temporaire ne peut pas dépasser 22 120 $ en 2017.
  • Les retraits du FRV sont imposables, selon les règles applicable

Vous trouverez d'autres caractéristiques du FRV dans la capsule Pour une utilisation judicieuse de vos actifs à la retraite de flash Retraite.

  • Achat d'une rente auprès d'un assureur

    En contrepartie d'un certain montant, un assureur peut vous garantir une rente qui débute immédiatement ou à une date ultérieure. Sachez aussi que :
    • plusieurs options peuvent vous être offertes à l'égard de la rente, par exemple en ce qui concerne la prestation de décès et les garanties associées à cette rente
    • si le montant avec lequel vous voulez garantir une rente est immobilisé, les options offertes pourront être plus limitées (par exemple, vous ne pourrez pas souscrire à une rente à durée fixe, aussi appelée rente certaine)
    • les sommes reçues de cette rente sont imposables
    • la rente viagère peut être souscrite uniquement auprès d'une compagnie d'assurance
    • la rente à durée fixe peut être souscrite auprès d'une compagnie d'assurance ou d'un établissement financier.
  • Rente de retraite versée directement par le régime complémentaire de retraite

    Si vous participez à un régime privé de retraite à prestations déterminées et que vous êtes à moins de 10 années de l'âge normal de la retraite prévu par ce régime, il est possible que l'on vous offre un seul choix : recevoir une rente versée par le régime.

    On vous offrira par contre diverses formes de versement pour cette rente, par exemple une rente comportant 0, 5 ou 10 années de garantie ou une rente réversible au conjoint (c'est-à-dire une rente d'un montant égal ou inférieur à ce que vous receviez avant votre décès), qui sera versée à vie à votre conjoint après votre décès.

À savoir...

  • Outre les régimes privés de retraite de l'employeur, les véhicules d'épargne-retraite et de décaissement sont offerts par la plupart des établissements financiers au Québec (banques, sociétés de fiducie, compagnies d'assurance, caisses Desjardins ou autres).
  • Pour en savoir plus sur les REER ou les FERR, consultez le site de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) au www.arc.gc.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre., sous la rubrique " Particuliers - Régime enregistré d'épargne " ou vérifiez auprès de votre établissement financier.
  • La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu ne prévoit aucune restriction d'immobilisation pour les REER ou les FERR. Il n'est donc pas nécessaire d'obtenir l'approbation de l'ARC pour annuler une telle immobilisation. Les questions à ce sujet doivent être adressées à l'organisme de réglementation qui supervise votre régime de retraite. Si vous êtes assujetti à la loi du Québec (la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite), il s'agit de Retraite Québec.
  • En plus d'être soumis aux règles de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, le CRI et le FRV doivent respecter la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite du Québec. Ils sont donc soumis à la surveillance de Retraite Québec. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements ou la liste des établissements qui offrent le CRI ou le FRV, consultez le www.retraitequebec.gouv.qc.ca, sous la rubrique " Programmes - Régimes complémentaires de retraite - CRI/FRV " ou votre établissement financier.
  • Si vous avez 65 ans ou plus, vous pouvez retirer la totalité de votre CRI ou de votre FRV, à condition que le total des sommes que vous avez accumulées dans les instruments d'épargne-retraite mentionnés ci-après ne dépasse pas 40 % du maximum des gains admissibles de l'année de la demande, soit 22 120 $ en 2017. Ces instruments sont :
    • le CRI
    • le FRV
    • le REER immobilisé
    • le régime complémentaire de retraite à cotisation déterminée (ou le volet à cotisation déterminée de votre régime complémentaire de retraite).
  • Certains établissements vont qualifier de " REER immobilisé " un placement dont les fonds sont immobilisés pour une période de temps précise, comme il a été convenu par les 2 parties (l'établissement financier et le client) au moment de l'achat. Ces fonds ne provenant pas d'un régime de retraite, ils ne doivent sans doute pas servir exclusivement à vous procurer un revenu de retraite.
  • Lors de l'achat d'une rente auprès d'un assureur, il est conseillé de " magasiner " cette rente, car son montant peut varier beaucoup d'une compagnie à l'autre. Il est également important de vérifier la solidité de la compagnie et la qualité des services qu'elle offre.

Ce texte vise exclusivement fournir de l'information générale sur la sécurité financière à la retraite. Cette information peut ne pas être appropriée au lecteur qui désire obtenir une information particulière sur l'un des sujets traités et ne peut pas être une garantie de résultat. Il appartient au lecteur de faire les consultations pertinentes. Cette capsule d'information n'engage pas les partenaires fournisseurs de ces informations.

© Tous droits réservés, flash Retraite

Accessibilité