Régie des rentes du Québec

Terms for withdrawal from an LIF

The income that a LIF holder can draw from his or her life income fund (LIF) is directly related to his or her age.

Under age 54

Two options: life income and temporary income.

The holder can draw a life income at any time.

The holder can also draw a temporary income each year if the LIF offers this option. To be entitled to a temporary income, he or she must:

  • be under age 54 on 31 December of the year preceding the application
  • have only one LIF
  • not have income exceeding 40% of the maximum pensionable earnings (MPE), that is, 21 000 $, in the 12 months following the application for a temporary income, if the application is filed in 2014.

    Income includes any amounts received in the form of salary or wages, interest or benefits, or in any other form (before tax), including employment insurance benefits, Old Age Security benefits, an indemnity from the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST), an indemnity from the Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ), interest income, bursaries or scholarships, disability insurance, or other. Income does not include any amounts received on behalf of others, such as child assistance payments or support payments.

The application for a temporary income is valid only for the year in which it is made.

Age 54 to 64

Two options: life income and temporary income.

The holder can draw a life income at any time.

The holder can also draw a temporary income each year if the LIF offers that option, regardless of his or her employment income. To be entitled to a temporary income, he or she must be at least 54 years of age and less than 65 years of age on 31 December of the year preceding the application.

The application for temporary income is valid only for the year in which it is made.

Age 65 or over

One option: life income

The holder can draw a life income from his or her LIF, but can no longer obtain a temporary income if he or she is age 65 or over as of 31 December of the year preceding the application. At age 65, he or she can generally begin receiving a pension under the Québec Pension Plan and, depending on his or her age, a federal Old Age Security Pension.

Beware of fraudulent withdrawals

The Régie urges the LIF or LIRA holder to be wary of classified ads that propose various tax-free ways to withdraw money from an LIRA or LIF, such as by purchasing stock shares or taking out a loan. Those methods are fraudulent. They can have significant tax effects This link will open in a new window., and the LIF or LIRA holder could lose his or her money. To find out more, please consult the Fraud in classified ads This link will open in a new window. section on the Autorité des marchés financiers du Québec's Web site.

  •  Share
  • Top of the page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Modalités de retrait d'un FRV

Le revenu que le détenteur peut tirer de son fonds de revenu viager (FRV) est directement lié à son âge.

Moins de 54 ans

Deux options : revenu viager et revenu temporaire

Le détenteur peut tirer un revenu viager en tout temps.

Il peut aussi tirer un revenu temporaire chaque année si son FRV lui offre cette option. Pour avoir droit à ce revenu, il doit :

  • avoir moins de 54 ans le 31 décembre de l'année précédant sa demande
  • posséder un seul FRV
  • avoir des revenus qui ne dépasseront pas 40 % du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA), soit 23 480 $, au cours des 12 mois qui suivent sa demande, s'il fait cette même demande en 2020.

    Les revenus comprennent toute somme perçue sous forme de salaire, d'intérêt, de rente ou autre (avant impôts), cela incluant : les prestations de l'assurance-emploi, de la sécurité du revenu, de la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST) et de la Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ), les revenus d'intérêts, les bourses et l'assurance salaire, etc. Sont exclus : les revenus perçus pour les tiers, tels que l'Allocation famille et les pensions alimentaires pour les enfants.

La demande de revenu temporaire n'est valide que pour l'année en cours.

De 54 à 64 ans

Deux options : revenu viager et revenu temporaire

Le détenteur peut tirer un revenu viager en tout temps.

Il peut aussi tirer un revenu temporaire chaque année si son FRV lui offre cette option, quels que soient ses revenus de travail. Pour avoir droit à ce revenu, il doit avoir au moins 54 ans et moins de 65 ans le 31 décembre de l'année précédant sa demande.

La demande de revenu temporaire n'est valide que pour l'année en cours.

65 ans ou plus

Une seule option : revenu viager

Le détenteur peut tirer un revenu viager de son FRV, mais il ne peut plus en tirer de revenu temporaire s'il a 65 ans ou plus le 31 décembre de l'année précédant sa demande. À compter de 65 ans, il peut généralement recevoir sa rente du Régime de rentes du Québec et, selon sa date de naissance, la pension de la Sécurité de la vieillesse.

Mise en garde contre les retraits frauduleux

Nous conseillons aux détenteurs de CRI ou de FRV de demeurer vigilants quant aux petites annonces leur proposant divers moyens d'encaisser l'argent de leur CRI ou de leur FRV sans payer d'impôt, comme l'achat d'actions ou un prêt. Ces moyens sont frauduleux. Ils peuvent avoir des incidences fiscales importantes en plus d'entraîner la perte de leur argent. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez la section Fraude dans les petites annonces Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du site Web de l'Autorité des marchés financiers du Québec.

  • Haut de la page
FRV Calcul Express - Calculez les revenus d'un FRV en 2020.