Characteristics of a defined contribution plan

How a defined contribution plan works can be compared to the workings of a registered retirement savings plan (RRSP). Retirement income depends on the sums accumulated in a member's account. It also depends, among other factors, on the interest rates in effect when a life annuity is purchased or the rates applicable to a life income fund (LIF).

A high return on your pension fund's investments combined with high interest rates at the time an annuity is purchased or when your account is transferred to a life income fund (LIF) ensures a higher pension during retirement.

The plan administrator decides how to invest the assets in the plan's pension fund, unless the plan provides that members assume that function, in whole or in part.

Who assumes the risk?

The return on the pension fund's investments, good or bad, directly affects the value of members' accounts. In other words, the investment risk is assumed by the plan's members. The employer's commitment is limited to making the contributions required under the plan's provisions.

What happens at retirement?

A defined contribution plan is not usually used to "pay a retirement pension". Instead, the amount credited to the member's account is used to purchase a life annuity from an insurer or is transferred to a life income fund (LIF), from which a retirement income can be drawn.

If a member does not retirement immediately, the amount accumulated can also be transferred to a locked-in retirement account (LIRA) so that it can be used to pay a retirement income later.

  • Top of page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Caractéristiques du régime à cotisation déterminée

Le fonctionnement d'un régime à cotisation déterminée est comparable à celui d'un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER). Le revenu à la retraite dépend des sommes accumulées dans le compte de retraite du participant. Il dépend aussi, entre autres, des taux d'intérêt en vigueur au moment de l'achat d'une rente ou des taux applicables au fonds de revenu viager (FRV).

Ainsi, un rendement élevé sur les placements de la caisse de retraite, ainsi que des taux d'intérêt élevés au moment de l'achat d'une rente ou des taux élevés applicables au FRV, permettent d'obtenir un revenu de retraite plus élevé.

L'administrateur du régime décide des placements à faire avec l'actif de la caisse de retraite, sauf si le régime prévoit que les participants assument en totalité ou en partie cette fonction.

La part du risque

Le rendement des placements, bon ou mauvais, se reflète directement sur la valeur du compte des participants. Les risques liés aux bons comme aux mauvais rendements sont donc assumés par les participants. L'engagement de l'employeur est limité à la cotisation qu'il est tenu de verser selon les dispositions du régime.

Que se passe-t-il à la retraite?

Le régime à cotisation déterminée ne sert habituellement pas à « payer une rente à la retraite ». On se sert plutôt du solde inscrit au compte pour acheter une rente viagère chez un assureur ou on transfère le solde dans un fonds de revenu viager (FRV) pour en tirer un revenu viager.

Si le participant ne prend pas sa retraite immédiatement, le solde pourra également être transféré dans un  compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) afin d'être utilisé plus tard comme revenu de retraite.
  • Haut de la page