Conditions for membership in a defined benefit pension plan

A pension plan may cover all of a company's employees or only some categories of employees.

Who can be a member?

An employee is eligible for plan membership if he or she is in a category of employees covered by the employer's plan.

An employee can join the plan if, during the preceding year:

  • the employer paid the employee an annual income corresponding to at least 35% of the maximum pensionable earnings (MPE) under the Québec Pension Plan (hereinafter "35% MPE criterion")

    or
  • the employee worked for at least 700 hours for the employer (hereinafter "700-hour criterion").

However, a plan can allow an eligible employee to join the plan at an earlier date.

A helpful example...

An employer offers a plan to his or her unionized employees. In 2019, a person is hired and becomes a member of the union. That person is therefore eligible for membership in the plan. If, in 2019, the employee receives earnings of at least $20 090 (35% of the MPE for 2019, that is, 35% of $57 400) from the employer, or works at least 700 hours for the employer, the employee will be able to become a member of the plan as of 1 January 2020.

Note that...

In a multi-employer plan, the "35% MPE criterion" and the "700-hour criterion" apply by adding the income and hours worked for each employer party to a plan, if one of the following two conditions is met:

  • the employees eligible for the plan are governed by the same collective agreement
    or
  • the employers are a parent company and its subsidiaries or subsidiaries of the same parent company.

Membership in the plan: compulsory or optional?

The plan may provide that membership is optional, compulsory, or optional according to certain conditions, and compulsory according to other conditions.

An eligible employee must be a member of a plan as soon as he or she meets the complusory membership conditions.

An eligible employee may apply for membership in the plan as soon as he or she meets the optional membership conditions.

A helpful example...

A plan provides for compulsory membership of unionized employees after 6 months of service with the employer and optional membership when the "35% MPE criterion" or the "700-hour criterion" is met. A unionized employee hired on 15 August 2019 must therefore become a plan member as of 15 February 2020. However, the same employee may apply for membership in the plan between 1 January and 15 February 2020, if, in 2019, he or she received earnings of at least $20 090 from the employer or worked at least 700 hours for the employer.

Where membership is optional, the eligible employee may apply for membership in the plan where he or she still meets the membership conditions when he or she files an application. A plan cannot provide that an eligible employee who refused to become a member of the plan will no longer be entitled to become a member thereafter.

A helpful example...

A plan provides for optional membership where the "35% MPE criterion" or the "700-hour criterion" is met. An employee met at least one of the criteria in 2019, but, in January 2020, informed the pension comittee that he or she did not want to become a member of the plan. The employee may then change his or her mind and apply for membership in the plan in 2020. If he or she does not do so, the employee will be able to become a member of the plan in 2021 only if he or she has once again met the "35% MPE criterion" or the "700-hour criterion" in 2020.

Information to be sent to eligible employees

Within 90 days of the date on which the employee becomes eligible for membership in the plan, the administrator must send him or her a plan summary, a brief description of the employee's rights and obligations, as well as a list of the main advantages of membership in the plan.

A helpful example...

An employer offers a plan to his or her unionized employees. A person is hired on 15 August and is unionized. That person is therefore eligible for membership in the plan as soon as he or she is hired. The pension committee has until 13 November to send the employee the plan summary and the description and list even if the employee has not yet met the membership conditions.

Legal references

Sections 33, 34 and 111 of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act This link will open in a new window.

  • Top of page

Conditions d'adhésion à un régime à prestations déterminées

Un régime de retraite peut couvrir tous les travailleurs d'une entreprise ou certaines catégories seulement.

Qui peut participer?

Une personne est admissible au régime si elle fait partie de la catégorie d'employés couverte par le régime de son employeur.

Elle peut y adhérer si, durant l'année précédente :

  • cet employeur lui a versé un revenu annuel correspondant au moins à 35 % du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) établi en vertu du Régime de rentes du Québec (ci-après « critère – 35 % MGA »)

    ou
  • elle a travaillé au moins 700 heures pour cet employeur (ci-après « critère – 700 heures »).

Toutefois, un régime peut permettre à une personne admissible d'y adhérer plus tôt.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un employeur offre un régime à ses employés syndiqués. En 2019, une personne est engagée et adhère au syndicat. Elle est donc admissible au régime. Si, en 2019, elle reçoit de cet employeur une rémunération d'au moins 20 090 $ (35 % du MGA de 2019, soit 35 % de 57 400 $), ou qu'elle travaille au moins 700 heures pour cet employeur, elle pourra adhérer au régime à compter du 1er janvier 2020.

Notez que...

Dans un régime interentreprises, le « critère – 35 % MGA » et le « critère – 700 heures » s'appliquent en cumulant le revenu et les heures travaillées pour chacun des employeurs parties au régime, si l'une ou l'autre des 2 conditions suivantes est remplie :

  • les travailleurs admissibles au régime sont régis par la même convention collective
    ou
  • les employeurs sont une société mère et ses filiales ou des filiales d'une société mère.

L'adhésion au régime : obligatoire ou pas?

Le régime peut prévoir que l'adhésion est facultative, obligatoire, ou encore facultative selon certaines conditions et obligatoire selon d'autres conditions.

La personne admissible doit participer au régime dès qu'elle remplit les conditions d'adhésion obligatoire.

La personne admissible peut demander à y participer dès qu'elle remplit les conditions d'adhésion facultative.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un régime prévoit l'adhésion obligatoire des employés syndiqués après 6 mois de service auprès de l'employeur et l'adhésion facultative quand le « critère – 35 % MGA » ou le « critère – 700 heures » est rempli. Une personne syndiquée embauchée le 15 août 2019 doit donc adhérer au régime à compter du 15 février 2020. Toutefois, cette même personne peut demander d'adhérer au régime entre le 1er janvier et le 15 février 2020, si, en 2019, elle a reçu une rémunération de l'employeur d'au moins 20 090 $ ou qu'elle a travaillé pour cet employeur au moins 700 heures.

Lorsque l'adhésion est facultative, la personne admissible peut demander à participer au régime dans la mesure où elle remplit toujours les conditions d'adhésion au moment où elle fait sa demande. Un régime ne peut pas prévoir qu'une personne admissible ayant refusé d'adhérer au régime n'aura plus le droit d'y adhérer par la suite.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un régime prévoit l'adhésion facultative quand le « critère – 35 % MGA » ou le « critère – 700 heures » est rempli. Une personne a rempli au moins un de ces critères en 2019, mais, en janvier 2020, elle a informé le comité de retraite qu'elle ne voulait pas adhérer au régime. Elle peut tout de même changer d'idée par la suite et demander d'adhérer au régime en 2020. Si elle ne le fait pas, elle ne pourra demander d'y adhérer en 2021 que si elle a rempli à nouveau le « critère – 35 % MGA » ou le « critère – 700 heures » en 2020.

Informations à transmettre aux travailleurs admissibles

Dans les 90 jours qui suivent la date où la personne devient admissible au régime, l'administrateur doit lui faire parvenir un sommaire du régime, une brève description de ses droits et de ses obligations, ainsi qu'un énoncé des principaux avantages de participer au régime.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un employeur offre un régime à ses employés syndiqués. Une personne est engagée le 15 août et elle est syndiquée. Elle est donc admissible au régime dès son embauche. Le comité de retraite a jusqu'au 13 novembre pour lui transmettre le sommaire du régime accompagné de la description et de l'énoncé même si cette personne n'a pas encore satisfait aux conditions d'adhésion.

Références juridiques

Articles 33, 34 et 111 de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

  • Haut de la page