Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Forms pensions can take 

A defined benefit pension plan is required to offer certain forms of pensions. The plan may also offer other forms as additional options.

A plan must provide all of the following:

* If the normal retirement age under the plan is 65.

Your plan may provide:

Normal form

A plan has a form of pension that is the standard, default form. It is called the "normal pension". However, it is possible for a member to take instead another form of pension. In that case, usually the amount of the pension will have to be changed so that the value of the pension in its alternate form will be the same as the value of the normal pension.

If the member has a spouse, the plan may pay a 60% joint and survivor pension instead of the plan's normal pension.

Life pension

With the exception of a temporary pension, all the pensions offered under a plan must be life pensions, that is, pensions that will be paid until death.

Joint and survivor pension of at least 60% to provide protection for a member's surviving spouse

If the member has a spouse, he or she will be entitled to a pension if the member dies. This form of pension is called a "joint and survivor pension". The amount of the surviving spouse's pension will be at least 60% of the retirement pension that the member was receiving when he or she died.

Usually, the qualifying spouse is the spouse the member had when he or she retired. However, if a conjugal breakdown occurs during the member's retirement, the spouse when the member retired generally loses his or her entitlement.

However, a plan may provide that the qualifying spouse is the spouse the member had when he or she died.

A member's spouse can renounce his or her right to receive a pension.

If a member receives a joint and survivor pension, his or her own pension may be reduced to take survivorship rights into account.  

A helpful example...

Suppose a member is entitled to a pension of 1 000 $ a month that would not be a joint and survivor's pension. Since the member has a spouse and he or she has not renounced a survivor's pension, the member will be entitled to a 60% joint and survivor pension of 900 $* a month for as long as he or she lives. When the member dies, his or her spouse will be entitled to a survivor's pension of 540 $ a month (60% of 900 $).

If the spouse renounces her right to a survivor's pension before payment of the member's pension begins, the member will be entitled to a pension of 1 000 $ a month. However, when the member dies, his or her surviving spouse will not receive anything. 

* This amount is given for illustrative purposes. The actual amount would be based on actuarial assumptions that include interest rates, the member's sex and age at the time the value of the member's benefits is calculated.

 

In the case of a temporary pension or a bridging pension

The spouse will receive at least 60% of the temporary pension or bridging pension for the remainder of the period for which the member would have received it and then at least 60% of the member's life pension until the spouse dies.

 

Haut de page  

 

Pension with a 10-year guarantee to provide protection in the event of premature death

This form of pension has a guarantee of continued payment if the member dies before the end of the guarantee period of 10 years. The payment may be made to a designated beneficiary or to the member's heirs, in one or several payments, according to the provisions of the pension plan.

A pension plan must offer a life pension with a 10-year guarantee, unless the pension to which the member is entitled already has a guarantee of at least 10 years.

If the member's spouse has not renounced a joint and survivor pension and the member chooses a pension with a 10-year guarantee, that pension must also be a joint and survivor pension of at least 60%.

A helpful example...

Suppose a member is receiving a retirement pension of 1 000 $ a month with a 10-year guarantee. If the member dies 3 years after payment of the pension begins, his or her designated beneficiary (or heirs) will receive a sum corresponding to 7 years of pension payments, that is, 84 000 $ (1 000 $ x 12 x 7) .

 

Who benefits from the guarantee period?

A member's spouse is not automatically entitled to the guaranteed payments. They are payable to the member's designated beneficiary (or heirs).

For example, suppose a spouse renounces his or her right to a joint and survivor's pension and the member chooses a pension with a 10-year guarantee and designates his or her children as beneficiaries. If the member dies 6 years after payment of the pension begins, his or her children (and not the surviving spouse) will be entitled to a sum corresponding to 4 years of pension payments.
 

Haut de page  

 

Temporary pension: an advance on your retirement pension

If a member begin drawings a retirement pension within 10 years of the normal retirement age, he or she can also apply for a temporary pension.

A temporary pension will provide him or her with an additional income until age 65 (or before, if desired) regardless of the normal retirement age under the plan. However, since the temporary pension is an advance on retirement savings, the pension payable will be reduced to take into account the early payment as well as to take into account the amount of temporary pension received.The pension that the member will receive from a public plan (Old Age Security and Québec Pension Plan) will partially offset the reduction of the retirement pension under the member's pension plan.

The maximum yearly amount for a temporary pension

The yearly amount of a temporary pension cannot exceed 40% of the maximum pensionable earnings (MPE) under the Québec Pension Plan for the year in which payment of a member's pension begins. Furthermore, a member cannot receive a temporary pension from any other pension plan or annuity contract. In 2020, a temporary pension cannot exceed $23 480.

A helpful example...

Suppose a member is 58 years old and is entitled to an early retirement pension of 12 000 $ a year. He or she applies for a temporary pension of 8 000 $ a year for 2 years. Thus, the member will have a yearly income of 18 716 $ at ages 58 and 59, that is, an ajdusted amount of 10 716 $* for an early retirement pension plus 8 000 $ for a temporary pension. As of age 60, the temporary pension will end and the member will continue to receive an early retirement pension of 10 716 $* a year.

* This amount is given for illustrative purposes. The actual amount would be based on actuarial assumptions that include interest rates, the member's sex and age at the time the value of the member's benefits is calculated.

 

Haut de page  

 

Indexed pension: a pension with periodic increases to offset in whole or in part increases in the cost of living

The normal pension may be indexed or indexation may be offered as an option. An indexed pension increases periodically, either according to a fixed rate (for example, 3% a year) or based on an index (for example, the consumer price index).

A plan is not required to index a pension or to offer an indexed pension as an option. The member can consult the plan summary to find out whether or not the plan has indexation provisions.

The formula used for indexation cannot have the effect of reducing the amount of the pension.

A helpful example...

Suppose a member is receiving a life pension of 1 000 $ a month and the pension is indexed annually to the IPC less 3%. Suppose that the IPC is 3% the first year, 4% the second year and 2% the third year. The first year, the pension would remain at 1000 $, the second year it would increase to 1 010 $ and the third year, it would continue without change at 1 010 $.
 

Haut de page  

 

Pension with a guarantee other than 10 years to provide protection in the event of premature death

In addition to a pension with a 10-year guarantee, a plan can offer other forms of guarantee, for example, a pension with a 5-year guarantee or a pension that ensures the refund of a member's contributions with interest.

Such guarantees can be offered as a feature of the normal form of pension or as an options.

A helpful example...

Suppose a member is single and receiving a life pension of 1 000 $ a month. Suppose that the pension guarantees the refund of the member's contributions with interest, which amount to 12 000 $ (corresponding to 12 monthly pension payments). The member will receive 1 000 $ a month for life. However if the member dies after receiving only 8 payments, the designated beneficiary or heirs will receive an amount corresponding to 4 monthly payments (4 x 1 000 $).
 

Haut de page  

 

Joint and survivor pension with a rate other than 60% to provide protection for a member's surviving spouse

In addition to a 60% joint and survivor pension, a plan may offer a joint and survivor pension with a rate less than or greater than 60%. If the member wants to choose an option that is less than 60%, the member's spouse must give his or her consent. The pension may be the normal form or a form offered as an option.

A helpful example...

Suppose a member chooses a life pension of 1 000 $ a month that is a 50% joint and survivor pension and his or her spouse gives consent. The member will receive a pension of 1 000 $ a month until he or she dies. Then, the spouse will receive a pension of 500 $ a month for the rest of his or her life.

Generally, the qualifying survivor cannot be anyone but the member's spouse. A plan may allow the member to choose someone who is considered to be his or her spouse for income tax purposes under the Income Tax Act but who is not a spouse for the purposes of your retirement pension under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. If there is a person considered to be the member's spouse under the pension plan, he or she must renounce the survivor's pension .

When consent or renunciation must be given : 3 situations to aid your understanding ...

  1. Suppose a member has a de facto (common law) spouse but is still married (or in a civil union) with another person, from whom the member is de facto separated (i.e., without a judgment of separation). The legal spouse (by marriage or by civil union) must renounce his or her pension for the member to be able to designate his or her de facto (common law) spouse as the beneficiary of a joint and survivor pension.
  2. A member is neither married nor in a civil union. He or she has been living in a conjugal relationship with another person for 2 years. That person is considered to be the member's spouse under the Income Tax Act, but not under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. No renunciation is required for the member to be able to designate the person with whom he or she has been living for 2 years as the beneficiary of a joint and survivor pension.
  3. The member is seperated from bed to board from someone and another person is the member's de facto (common law) spouse. In such a case, under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, the person from whom the member is seperated from bed to board is not entitled to a joint and survivor pension. Therefore, the person from whom the member is seperated from bed to board does not have to renounce his or her pension for the member to be able to choose a joint and survivor pension payable to the member's de facto (common law) spouse.
 

Haut de page  

 

Joint and survivor pension reduced upon first death to provide another form of protection for a member's surviving spouse

A plan can offer a pension whose amount is reduced following the member's death or the death of the member's spouse, regardless of which one of them dies first. Unlike most of the other pensions, a joint and survivor pension reduced upon first death cannot be a normal form of pension. It can only be offered as an option.

If the pension is less than a 60% joint and survivor pension, the member's spouse must give his or her consent.

A helpful example...

Suppose a member is receiving a 60% joint and survivor pension of 1 000 $ a month that will be reduced upon the first death. If the member's spouse dies, the member's pension will be reduced to 600 $ a month for the rest of his or her life. If the member dies first, the surviving spouse will receive 600 $ a month until he or she dies

Generally, the qualifying survivor cannot be anyone but the member's spouse. A plan may allow a member to choose someone who is considered to be the member's spouse for income tax purposes under the Income Tax Act but who is not the member's spouse for the purposes of the member's retirement pension (under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act ). If there is a person considered to be the member's spouse under the pension plan, he or she must renounce the surviving spouse's pension.

  • Top of page

Formes de rentes de retraite

Le régime de retraite à prestations déterminées doit offrir certaines formes de rentes. Il peut aussi en offrir d'autres en option.

Ce que le régime doit prévoir :

* Si l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime est établi à 65 ans.

Ce que le régime peut prévoir :

Forme normale

Le régime prévoit une forme de rente qui s'applique par défaut. C'est ce qu'on appelle la « forme normale de rente ». Il est toutefois possible de changer cette rente pour une autre de forme différente. Le montant de la rente sera habituellement modifié pour en tenir compte, de façon à ce que la valeur de la rente sous sa nouvelle forme ait la même valeur que la rente sous sa forme normale.

Toutefois, si le participant a un conjoint, son régime peut lui verser une rente qui sera réversible à 60 % à ce conjoint, plutôt qu'une rente sous sa forme normale.

Rentes viagères

Toutes les rentes offertes par le régime, sauf la rente temporaire et la prestation de raccordement, doivent être viagères, c'est-à-dire payées jusqu'au décès.

Rente réversible à 60 % ou plus : protection pour le conjoint en cas de décès

Au décès du participant, son conjoint reçoit une rente. C'est ce qu'on appelle une « rente réversible ». Le montant de cette rente est d'au moins 60 % du montant de la rente que recevait le participant.

C'est normalement le conjoint au moment de la retraite du participant qui a droit à cette rente. Toutefois, s'il y a rupture pendant la retraite, ce conjoint perd généralement son droit.

Le régime peut prévoir que ce sera plutôt le conjoint au moment du décès du participant qui y aura droit.

Le conjoint peut renoncer à son droit de recevoir cette rente.

Si le participant reçoit une rente réversible, le montant de sa propre rente pourrait être réduit pour en tenir compte.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant a droit à une rente de 1 000 $ par mois, non réversible. Comme il a un conjoint et que celui-ci ne renonce pas à la rente réversible, il recevra plutôt une rente de 900 $* par mois réversible à 60 %. Au décès du participant, son conjoint aura droit à une rente de 540 $ par mois, soit 60 % de 900 $.

Si le conjoint renonce à la rente réversible avant que le participant commence à recevoir sa rente, le participant aura alors droit à une rente de 1 000 $ par mois. Toutefois, à son décès, son conjoint ne recevra rien.

* Ce montant est fourni à titre indicatif parce qu'il est notamment basé sur des hypothèses d'intérêts, sur le sexe et sur l'âge du participant au moment de l'évaluation.

Dans le cas d'une rente temporaire ou d'une prestation de raccordement

Le conjoint recevra 60 % ou plus du montant de la rente temporaire ou de la prestation de raccordement pour la période où le participant devait la recevoir, et 60 % ou plus du montant de la rente viagère jusqu'à son décès.

 

Haut de page  

 

Rente garantie 10 ans : protection en cas de décès prématuré

Cette rente est assortie d'une garantie de paiement advenant le décès du participant avant la fin de la période de 10 ans. Ce paiement peut être fait au bénéficiaire désigné ou aux héritiers, en un ou plusieurs versements, selon ce que prévoit le régime.

Le régime doit offrir une rente viagère garantie 10 ans, à moins que la rente ne soit déjà assortie d'une période de garantie d'au moins 10 ans.

Si le conjoint n'a pas renoncé à la rente réversible et que le participant choisit une rente garantie 10 ans, cette rente devra également être réversible à 60 % ou plus.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant reçoit une rente de retraite de 1 000 $ par mois, assortie d'une garantie de 10 ans. Il décède 3 ans après le début de la mise en paiement de sa rente. Le bénéficiaire qu'il a désigné, ou à défaut ses héritiers, recevront une somme correspondant aux paiements de 7 ans de rente, soit 84 000 $ (1 000 $ × 12 × 7).

Qui profite de la rente garantie?

Le conjoint n'a pas automatiquement droit à cette garantie. C'est le bénéficiaire désigné ou à défaut les héritiers qui y ont droit.

Par exemple : Le conjoint a renoncé à la rente réversible. Le participant a alors choisi une rente garantie 10 ans et a désigné ses enfants comme bénéficiaires. Il décède 6 ans après le début du paiement de sa rente. Ce sont ses enfants, et non son conjoint, qui auront le droit de recevoir la somme équivalant aux paiements de 4 ans de rente.

 

Haut de page  

 

Rente temporaire : avance sur le revenu de retraite

Si le participant commence à recevoir sa rente dans les 10 ans précédant l'âge normal de la retraite, il peut demander une rente temporaire.

Cette rente permet de recevoir temporairement un revenu additionnel jusqu'à 65 ans, ou avant si le participant le désire, quel que soit l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime. Cependant, comme il s'agit d'une avance sur l'épargne-retraite, la rente du participant sera réduite non seulement pour tenir compte de l'anticipation, mais également pour tenir compte de la rente temporaire dont il a profité. Par contre, les rentes qui lui seront versées par les régimes publics (Sécurité de la vieillesse et Régime de rentes du Québec) compenseront en partie cette réduction.

Le montant annuel maximal de la rente temporaire

Le montant annuel de la rente temporaire ne peut dépasser 40 % du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) pour l'année où débute le paiement de la rente du participant, moins le montant de la prestation de raccordement qui peut lui être versée par son régime. De plus, le participant ne doit pas recevoir de rente temporaire d'un autre régime de retraite ou d'un contrat de rente. En 2021, la rente temporaire ne peut excéder 24 640 $.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant a 58 ans et a droit à une rente anticipée de son régime de 12 000 $ par année. Il demande une rente temporaire de 8 000 $ par année pendant 2 ans. Il aura alors un revenu de 18 716 $ par année à 58 et à 59 ans, soit 10 716 $* pour sa rente anticipée et 8 000 $ pour sa rente temporaire. À compter de 60 ans, il aura une rente anticipée de 10 716 $* par année.

* Ce montant est fourni à titre indicatif parce qu'il est notamment basé sur des hypothèses d'intérêts, sur le sexe et sur l'âge du participant au moment de l'évaluation.

 

Haut de page  

 

Rente indexée : rente qui augmente périodiquement pour contrer en tout ou en partie la hausse du coût de la vie

La rente indexée peut faire partie de la forme normale de la rente ou être offerte en option. Cette rente augmente périodiquement selon un taux fixe (par exemple, 3 % par année) ou en fonction d'un indice (par exemple, l'indice des prix à la consommation).

Le régime n'est pas obligé d'indexer une rente, ni d'offrir une rente indexée en option. Le participant peut consulter le sommaire de son régime pour savoir à quoi s'en tenir.

La formule d'indexation ne peut pas avoir pour effet de diminuer le montant de la rente.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant reçoit une rente viagère de 1 000 $ par mois et cette rente est indexée annuellement selon l'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) moins 3 %. Supposons que l'IPC est à 3 % la 1re année, à 4 % la 2e année et à 2 % la 3e année : le participant recevra donc une rente mensuelle de 1 000 $ la 1re année, de 1 010 $ la 2e année et de 1 010 $ la 3e année.

 

Haut de page  

 

Rente garantie pour une période autre que 10 ans : autre protection en cas de décès prématuré

En plus de la garantie de 10 ans, le régime peut offrir d'autres formes de garanties, par exemple une rente garantie 5 ans ou une rente assurant le remboursement des cotisations salariales, avec intérêts.

Il peut s'agir de la forme normale de la rente où d'une forme offerte en option.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant célibataire reçoit une rente viagère de 1 000 $ par mois. La garantie assortie à cette rente est le remboursement de ses cotisations salariales avec intérêts, lesquelles s'élèvent à 12 000 $, soit l'équivalent de 12 paiements de rente mensuelle. Il recevra donc 1 000 $ par mois sa vie durant. Mais s'il décède après avoir reçu 8 mensualités, son bénéficiaire désigné, ou à défaut ses héritiers, recevront l'équivalent des 4 mensualités à être versées, soit 4 000 $ (4 × 1 000 $).

 

Haut de page  

 

Rente réversible à un taux autre que 60 % : autre protection pour le conjoint en cas de décès

En plus de la réversibilité à 60 %, un régime peut offrir une rente de retraite réversible à un taux inférieur ou supérieur à 60 %. Pour obtenir un taux inférieur, le consentement du conjoint est requis. Il peut s'agir de la forme normale de la rente ou d'une forme offerte en option.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant opte pour une rente viagère de 1 000 $ par mois réversible à 50 % et son conjoint y consent. Le participant recevra donc une rente viagère de 1 000 $ par mois pour le reste de sa vie. À son décès, son conjoint recevra une rente de 500 $ par mois pour le reste de sa vie.

En général, la rente de retraite du participant ne peut pas être réversible à une personne autre que son conjoint. Le régime pourrait permettre de choisir une rente réversible à une personne qui se qualifie à titre de conjoint pour les déclarations de revenus (au sens de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu), mais non pour le régime de retraite (au sens de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite). Le cas échéant, la personne qui se qualifie à titre de conjoint pour le régime devra alors renoncer à recevoir une rente.

Les renonciations requises : 3 situations pour y voir plus clair...

  1. Un participant a un conjoint de fait mais il est toujours marié (ou uni civilement) à une autre personne dont il est séparé de fait (et non séparé de corps). La renonciation du conjoint marié (ou uni civilement) sera donc requise pour que le participant puisse opter pour une rente réversible destinée à son conjoint de fait.
  2. Un participant n'est pas marié ni uni civilement, mais il vit maritalement avec une personne depuis 2 ans. Cette personne est définie comme un conjoint au sens de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, mais ne l'est pas au sens de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite. Aucune renonciation n'est requise pour que le participant puisse opter pour une rente réversible destinée à la personne avec qui il vit maritalement depuis 2 ans.
  3. Un participant est séparé de corps et il a un conjoint de fait. La séparation de corps implique qu'il est toujours marié. Or, il est prévu dans la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite que, dans un tel cas, la personne de qui le participant est séparé de corps n'a pas droit à la rente réversible à titre de conjoint. Par conséquent, aucune renonciation n'est requise de cette personne pour que le participant puisse opter pour une rente réversible destinée à son conjoint de fait.
 

Haut de page  

 

Rente réversible réduite au 1er décès : autre protection pour le conjoint

Le régime peut offrir une rente dont le montant est réduit à la suite du décès du participant ou de celui de son conjoint, peu importe lequel décède en premier. Contrairement à la plupart des autres formes de rentes, la rente réversible réduite au 1er décès ne peut pas constituer la forme normale de la rente. Elle peut seulement être offerte en option.

Si le taux de réversibilité est inférieur à 60 %, le consentement du conjoint est requis.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant reçoit une rente de 1 000 $ par mois, qui est réversible à 60 % au 1er décès. Si son conjoint décède avant lui, il recevra alors une rente de 600 $ par mois jusqu'à son décès. À l'inverse, si le participant décède avant son conjoint, ce dernier recevra alors une rente de 600 $ par mois jusqu'à son décès.

En général, la rente de retraite du participant ne peut pas être réversible à une personne autre que son conjoint. Le régime pourrait permettre de choisir une rente réversible à une personne qui se qualifie à titre de conjoint pour les déclarations de revenus (au sens de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu), mais non pour le régime de retraite (au sens de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite). Le cas échéant, la personne qui se qualifie à titre de conjoint pour le régime devra alors renoncer à recevoir une rente.

Haut de la page