Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Return to work and suspension of payment of a retirement pension

Defined benefit plan

A member does not receive a phased retirement benefit...

The member can apply for suspension of payment of his or her retirement pension if he or she returns to work for an employer party to the plan that pays the pension. In that case, the plan must provide for and continue the accumulation of new benefits before the normal retirement age unless he or she is receiving a maximum pension. After the normal retirement age, he or she can continue to accumulate new benefits, if the plan so provides.

At the end of the pension suspension, the suspended payments are not paid retroactively. His or her retirement pension will be increased by an equivalent value that takes into account:

  • the suspension period prior to the normal retirement age, unless he or she was receiving an unreduced early pension
  • the suspension period following the normal retirement age

To that retirement pension will be added an additional pension resulting from the benefits accumulated during the suspension period. The additional pension will likewise be increased by an equivalent value for the period following the normal retirement age.

A helpful example...

A plan provides for a pension equal to 2% of salary for each year of service up to the normal retirement age of 65. The pension is not reduced if a member takes early retirement at age 60 or later.

A member's salary is 50 000 $ a year. He retires at age 60, after 25 years of service. He is therefore entitled to an unreduced pension of 25 000 $ (2% × 50 000 $ × 25 years). At age 63, he returns to work full-time and has payment of his pension suspended. He continues to accumulate benefits until age 65, which will give him an additional pension of 2 000 $ (2% × 50 000 $ × 2 years). He resumes his retirement at age 66.

His 25 000 $ pension is increased to 27 000 $ for the period from ages 65 to 66. His additional pension of 2 000 $ is also increased for the period from ages 65 to 66, to 2 160 $. As of age 65, he therefore receives a retirement pension of 29 160 $.

Thus his annual income is:

  • a pension of 25 000 $ from ages 60 to 63
  • a salary of 50 000 $ from ages 63 to 66
  • a pension of 29 160 $ as of age 66

A member receives a phased retirement benefit...

If a member returns to work for an employer who is party to the plan that pays him or her a retirement pension and he or she receives a phased retirement benefit, the retirement pension will be suspended. The suspension does not apply to the portion resulting from excess member contributions, additional voluntary contributions and transferred sums. That portion can, however, also be suspended if the plan so provides and the member makes an application for suspension.

At the end of the pension suspension, the suspended payments will not be made retroactively. The member's retirement pension will be increased for the suspension period prior to the normal retirement age, unless he or she was receiving an unreduced early pension. In addition, the newly accumulated benefits, if any, will provide an additional pension.

A helpful example...

A plan provides for a pension equal to 2% of salary for each year of service up to the normal retirement age of 65. The pension is reduced by 3% a year if the member retires before age 65.

A member's salary is 50 000 $ a year. She retires at age 60, after 25 years of service. She is therefore entitled to a pension of 25 000 $ (2 % × 50 000 $ × 25 years) reduced by 15%, which results in a pension of 21 250 $. She has no excess member contributions, no additional voluntary contributions and no transferred sums.

At age 63, she returns to work full-time and makes an agreement with her employer to receive the maximum phased retirement benefit. That benefit is 12 750 $ (60 % × 21 250 $). Her retirement pension must be suspended.

She continues to accumulate benefits up to age 65, which will give her with an additional pension of 2 000 $ (2 % × 50 000 $ × 2 years). She resumes her retirement at age 65.

Her 21 250 $ pension is increased to 24 715 $ for the period from ages 63 to 65. Thus her annual income is:

  • a retirement pension of 21 250 $ from ages 60 to 63
  • a total of 62 750 $ from ages 63 to 65  (a salary of 50 000 $ + a phased retirement benefit of 12 750 $)
  • a retirement pension of 26 715 $ as of age 65 (22 525 $ + 2 000 $).
  • Top of page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Retour au travail et suspension du paiement de la rente de retraite

Régime à prestations déterminées

Le participant ne reçoit pas une prestation de retraite progressive...

Le participant peut demander de suspendre le paiement de sa rente de retraite s'il retourne au travail pour un employeur partie au régime qui lui verse sa rente. Pour cela, le régime doit le prévoir et il doit continuer d'accumuler de nouveaux droits avant l'âge normal de la retraite sauf s'il reçoit sa rente maximale. Après l'âge normal de la retraite, il peut continuer d'accumuler de nouveaux droits si le régime le prévoit.

À la fin de la suspension de la rente, on ne lui versera pas les paiements suspendus de façon rétroactive. Sa rente de retraite sera augmentée d'une valeur équivalente pour tenir compte de :

  • la période de suspension précédent l'âge normal de la retraite sauf s'il recevait une rente anticipée non réduite
  • la période de suspension suivant l'âge normal de la retraite

À cette rente s'ajoutera une rente additionnelle constituée des droits accumulés durant la période de suspension. Cette rente additionnelle sera également augmentée d'une valeur équivalente pour la période suivant l'âge normal de la retraite.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un régime prévoit une rente égale à 2 % du salaire par année de service jusqu'à l'âge normal de la retraite à 65 ans. Cette rente n'est pas réduite si le participant prend sa retraite à 60 ans ou plus.

Un participant a un salaire de 50 000 $ par année. Il prend sa retraite à 60 ans après 25 années de service. Il a donc droit à une rente non réduite de 25 000 $ (2 % × 50 000 $ × 25 ans). À 63 ans, il retourne au travail à temps plein et fait suspendre le paiement de sa rente. Il continue d'accumuler des droits jusqu'à 65 ans, ce qui lui donnera une rente additionnelle de 2 000 $ (2 % × 50 000 $ × 2 ans). Il reprend sa retraite à 66 ans.

Sa rente de 25 000 $ est augmentée pour la période de 65 à 66 ans à 27 000 $. Sa rente additionnelle de 2 000 $ est également augmentée pour la période de 65 à 66 ans à 2 160 $. À compter de 66 ans, il reçoit donc une rente de retraite de 29 160 $.
Ses revenus sont donc de :

  • 25 000 $ de rente de 60 à 63 ans
  • 50 000 $ de salaire de 63 à 66 ans
  • 29 160 $ de rente à compter de 66 ans.

Le participant reçoit une prestation de retraite progressive...

Si le participant retourne au travail pour un employeur partie au régime qui lui verse sa rente de retraite et qu'il reçoit une prestation de retraite progressive, sa rente de retraite sera suspendue. Cela exclut la part constituée avec les cotisations salariales excédentaires, les cotisations volontaires et les sommes transférées. Cette part peut également être suspendue si le régime le prévoit et que le participant en fait la demande.

À la fin de la suspension de la rente, on ne lui versera pas les paiements suspendus de façon rétroactive. Sa rente de retraite sera augmentée pour la période de suspension précédent l'âge normale de la retraite sauf s'il recevait une rente anticipée non réduite. De plus, les nouveaux droits accumulés, s'il y a lieu, lui procureront une rente additionnelle.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un régime prévoit une rente égale à 2 % du salaire par année de service jusqu'à l'âge normal de la retraite à 65 ans. Cette rente est réduite de 3 % par année si le participant prend sa retraite avant cet âge.

Un participant a un salaire de 50 000 $ par année. Il prend sa retraite à 60 ans après 25 années de service. Il a donc droit à une rente de 25 000 $ (2 % × 50 000 $ × 25 ans) réduite de 15 % ce qui donne 21 250 $. Il n'a ni cotisations salariales excédentaires, ni cotisations volontaires, ni sommes transférées.

À 63 ans, il retourne au travail à temps plein et convient avec son employeur de recevoir la prestation de retraite progressive maximale. Cette prestation s'élève à 12 750 $ (60 % de 21 250 $). Sa rente de retraite est donc suspendue.

Il continue d'accumuler des droits jusqu'à 65 ans, ce qui lui donnera une rente additionnelle de 2 000 $ (2 % × 50 000 $ × 2 ans). Il reprend sa retraite à 65 ans.

Sa rente de 21 250 $ est augmentée pour la période de 63 à 65 ans à 24 715 $.

Ses revenus sont donc de :

  • 21 250 $ de rente de retraite de 60 à 63 ans
  • 62 750 $ de 63 à 65 ans (50 000 $ de salaire + 12 750 $ de prestation de retraite progressive)
  • 26 715 $ de rente de retraite à compter de 65 ans (22 525 $ + 2 000 $).
  • Haut de la page