Payment of defined benefits

Benefits are paid after a settlement of rights under a pension plan, most often via a transfer out of the plan or a cash payment (refund). As a result, the person no longer has any ties with the pension plan.

Initial payment

The initial payment of defined benefits payable to members or beneficiaries other than in the form of regular installments must take into account the plan's degree of solvency. The degree of solvency is established based on the information in the most recent document sent to Retraite Québec, that is, based either on the plan's actuarial valuation report or on the notice presenting the plan's financial situation. This rule does not apply to early benefits.

The applicable degree of solvency is the most recent degree determined prior to the date of the valuation of the benefits for the purposes of payment. For example, for a request to transfer benefits within 90 days following receipt of the statement of cessation of membership, the applicable degree of solvency will be the most recent degree determined prior to the date on which active membership ended. In the case of a death benefit, it will be the most recent degree determined prior to the date on which the death occured.

The administrator may decide to add to the amount that cannot be paid under the above-mentioned rule an amount of up to 5% of the maximum pensionable earnings (MPE), without exceeding 5% of the assets of the plan determined on a solvency basis.

Despite the above, the value of the benefits paid initially cannot be less than the total amount of contributions paid by the member plus the amounts credited to his or her account following a transfer, plus interest.

For a pension plan with surplus assets whose degree of solvency is 115%, members are usually paid 100% of their benefits. However, a plan may stipulate that this limit does not apply, that is, that members' benefits will be paid at 115% or that the applicable degree is set at a level above 100%, for example 110%, which allows members to receive a portion of the surplus assets.

Residual benefits

It is no longer necessary to capitalize and pay the balance of the value of the benefits that could not be paid at the time of the initial payment (residual benefits) because of the plan's insolvency, except in the following cases:

  • When the plan provides for the payment of the value of members' and beneficiaries' benefits in a proportion that is greater than the degree of solvency
  • When members and beneficiaries do not have the option of maintaining their benefits in the pension plan, for example, if the administrator requires that the value of the benefits be refunded when that value is less than 20% of the MPE.

In these exceptional cases, an amount must first be paid into the pension fund in order to ensure full payment of the benefits of members who received an initial payment. This amount corresponds to the balance owed. It must be paid into the fund over and above the current service contributions for the fiscal year within five years after the date of the initial payment or no later than the date on which the member reaches the normal age of retirement if that age is reached before the expiry of the five-year period. The administrator will complete the payment after this amount has been paid into the fund.

Note that any change in the plan's solvency will not affect the amounts payable to the pension fund for the partial or total payment of residual benefits.

Terms of payment in the case of the partition of benefits between former spouses

The administrator should not take the plan's degree of solvency into account when paying the former spouse the amount owing following the breakdown of the union. The total amount, plus interest, must be paid within the time frame specified in the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans. If the plan is insolvent, no additional amounts will be paid into the pension fund with respect to the settlement.

Annual statement and statement of cessation of membership

The annual statement for members who are still eligible to transfer their benefits must indicate, at least once every three years, the value of the benefits at the end of the fiscal year and the value that can be transferred out of the plan at that date, given the plan's degree of solvency. Other information, namely transfer deadlines and the rules concerning payment, must also be included.

The statement of cessation of membership must indicate the plan's most recent degree of solvency and explain the rules concerning payment.

What you need to know

No annual statement is sent to members and beneficiaries whose benefits were paid following the purchase of an annuity under the annuity purchasing policy, even if they retain their status as a member or beneficiary under the plan for a period of three years in the case of plan termination.

Negotiated contribution pension plans and member-funded pension plans

Special rules apply to negotiated contribution multi-employer plans and member-funded pension plans.

Treatment of residual benefits in the Annual Information Return

Statement of changes in the plan's net assets

Residual benefits must be taken into account in the statement of changes in the plan's net assets (lines 301 to 333).

The amounts paid or to be paid into the pension fund to cover residual benefits are a source of increase in the plan's assets, regardless of their due date. They must be entered on line 309.1 of the return, "Amounts required to pay the residual benefits." Interest on these amounts for the fiscal year covered by the return must be indicated on lines 311 to 313, "Other sources of increase." In this case the following wording must be used: "Interest on the amounts required to pay the residual benefits."

When the administrator pays a portion of members' benefits, the plan's net assets must be reduced by the total amount of the value of those benefits, that is, the benefits paid and the residual benefits to be paid. The total amount must be distributed between lines 322, "Transfers to a supplemental pension plan," and 323.1, "Other transfers or refunds (locked-in or not locked-in)."

Lastly, the annual interest on residual benefits must be entered on lines 326 to 328, "Other sources of decrease." In this case, the following wording must be used: "Interest on the residual benefits."

Net assets

Residual benefits must be taken into account in the net assets (lines 336 to 378).

The amounts payable to the pension fund that are required to pay the residual benefits are considered accounts receivable, regardless of their due date. They must be entered, along with the interest payable, on line 362.2, "Amount receivable, including interest, required to pay the residual benefits." They must be entered on this line until they are paid into the pension fund, and interest must be added each fiscal year.

The amounts payable to members as residual benefits are considered liabilities, regardless of their due date. They must be entered on line 372.1, "Residual benefits to be paid, including interest," along with the interest accrued at the close of the fiscal year. They must be entered on this line until they are fully paid, and interest must be added each fiscal year.

Example 1 : The value of the benefits is transferred in proportion to the degree of solvency, and there are no residual benefits.

George ceases active membership in the plan on 31 January. He applies for a transfer of the value of his benefits to his new employer's supplemental pension plan within 90 days following receipt of his statement of cessation of membership.

The plan does not provide for payment of the value of benefits in a proportion that is greater than the plan's degree of solvency. As at 31 January, the plan's degree of solvency is 75%, and George's benefits are valued at $100 000. An amount of $75 000 (75% x $100 000) can be transferred to his new plan. The transaction is finalized at the end of the fiscal year.

In the Annual Information Return as at 31 December, George's information must be indicated as follows:

Line number Wording Amount
322Transfers to a supplemental pension plan$75 000

Example 2 : The total value of the benefits can be transferred.

Lucy ceases active membership in the plan on 31 March. She applies for a transfer of the value of her benefits to a locked-in retirement account (LIRA) within 90 days following receipt of her statement of cessation of membership.

The plan stipulates that members have the right to transfer the total value of their benefits when they cease active membership. As at 31 March, the applicable degree of solvency is 80%, and the total value of Lucy's benefits is $200 000. She is therefore entitled to an initial payment of $160 000 (80% x $200 000) and to residual benefits of $40 000.

For the residual benefits to which she is entitled to be transferred to her LIRA, $40 000 must be paid into the pension fund.

In the Annual Information Return as at 31 December, Lucy's information must be indicated as follows:

Line number Wording Amount
309.1Amount required to pay the residual benefits $40 000
311 to 313Interest on the amount required to pay the residual benefits $200
323.1Other transfers or refunds (locked-in or not locked-in)$200 000
326 to 328Interest on the residual benefits$200
362.2Amounts receivable, including interest, to pay for the residual benefits$40 200
372.1Residual rights payable, including interest$40 200

References

Legal references

Other references

Top of page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Acquittement des droits à prestations déterminées

L'acquittement des droits s'effectue lorsqu'il y a règlement ou paiement des droits d'une personne au titre d'un régime de retraite, le plus souvent par un transfert hors régime ou un remboursement. Ce règlement fait en sorte que cette personne n'a plus de lien avec le régime de retraite.

Acquittement initial

L'acquittement initial des droits à prestations déterminées payables aux participants ou aux bénéficiaires autrement que sous forme de versements périodiques doit se faire en fonction du degré de solvabilité du régime. Ce degré est établi en fonction des informations qui figurent dans le document le plus récent transmis à Retraite Québec, c'est-à-dire soit selon le rapport d'évaluation actuarielle du régime, soit selon l'avis présentant la situation financière du régime. Il est toutefois à noter que cette règle ne s'applique pas à la prestation anticipée.

Le degré de solvabilité applicable est le degré qui a été établi le plus récemment avant la date de l'évaluation des droits en vue de cet acquittement. Par exemple, pour une demande de transfert des droits dans les 90 jours qui suivent la réception du relevé de départ, le degré de solvabilité applicable sera le degré qui a été établi le plus récemment avant la date de la fin de la participation active. Dans le cas d'une prestation de décès, il s'agira du degré qui a été établi le plus récemment avant la date du décès.

L'administrateur peut décider d'ajouter à la somme qui ne peut être acquittée selon la règle décrite ci-dessus une somme pouvant aller jusqu'à 5 % du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA), sans excéder 5 % de l'actif du régime selon l'approche de solvabilité.

Malgré ce qui précède, la valeur des droits acquittés initialement ne peut être inférieure au total des cotisations versées par le participant ou la participante et des sommes inscrites à son compte par suite d'un transfert, avec les intérêts.

Pour un régime de retraite en excédent d'actif dont le degré de solvabilité est de 115 %, les droits des participants sont normalement acquittés à 100 %. Toutefois, un régime peut prévoir que cette limite ne s'applique pas (c'est-à-dire que les droits sont acquittés à 115 %) ou que le degré à appliquer est fixé à un niveau supérieur à 100 %, par exemple à 110 %, ce qui permet ainsi aux participants de recevoir une partie de l'excédent d'actif.

Droits résiduels

Il n'est plus obligatoire de capitaliser et de payer le solde de la valeur des droits qui n'a pas pu être payé lors de l'acquittement initial (droits résiduels) en raison de l'insolvabilité du régime, sauf pour quelques exceptions, notamment lorsque :

  • le régime prévoit l'acquittement de la valeur des droits des participants et bénéficiaires selon une proportion supérieure au degré de solvabilité
  • les participants ou les bénéficiaires n'ont pas la possibilité de demander que leurs droits soient maintenus dans le régime de retraite, par exemple si l'administrateur impose le remboursement de la valeur des droits lorsque la valeur est inférieure à 20 % du MGA.  

Pour ces exceptions, une somme doit être versée préalablement à la caisse du régime pour que les droits de la personne visée par un acquittement initial puissent être acquittés à 100 %. Cette somme correspond au solde à payer à cette personne. Cette somme doit être versée en plus des cotisations requises pour l'exercice financier et être payée à la caisse dans un délai maximal de 5 ans après l'acquittement initial, à moins que la personne visée par l'acquittement initial n'atteigne l'âge normal de la retraite avant ce délai. Dans ce cas, le versement devra être fait au plus tard au moment où la personne atteindra cet âge. L'administrateur complète l'acquittement après que cette somme a été versée à la caisse.

Il est à noter que l'amélioration ou la détérioration de la solvabilité du régime ne modifie pas les sommes qui doivent être versées à la caisse de retraite pour l'acquittement partiel ou total des droits résiduels.

Modalités d'acquittement lors d'un partage de droits entre conjoints

L'administrateur ne doit pas tenir compte du degré de solvabilité du régime lorsqu'il remet à l'ex-conjoint ou l'ex-conjointe la somme qui lui revient à la suite de la rupture de son union. Il doit acquitter la totalité de cette somme, avec les intérêts, dans le délai prévu au Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite. Si le régime n'est pas solvable, aucune somme additionnelle n'a à être versée à la caisse de retraite relativement à cet acquittement.

Relevés annuels et de départ

Le relevé annuel, s'il s'adresse à un participant ou une participante qui a toujours l'âge requis pour avoir le droit au transfert de ses droits, doit indiquer, au moins une fois tous les 3 ans, la valeur des droits à la fin de l'exercice financier et la valeur pouvant être transférée hors du régime à cette date, compte tenu du degré de solvabilité du régime. D'autres informations, notamment les délais de transfert ainsi que les règles concernant les acquittements, doivent également s'y trouver.

Le relevé de départ doit indiquer le degré de solvabilité du régime le plus récent et expliquer les règles concernant les acquittements.

À savoir

Aucun relevé annuel n'est transmis aux participants et bénéficiaires dont les droits ont été acquittés à la suite d'un achat de rente conformément à la politique d'achat de rentes, même s'ils conservent leur qualité de participant, participante ou bénéficiaire du régime pendant une période de 3 ans en cas de terminaison de régime.

Régimes à cotisations négociées et régimes par financement salarial

Des règles particulières s'appliquent aux régimes interentreprises à cotisations négociées et aux régimes de retraite par financement salarial.

Traitement des droits résiduels dans la Déclaration annuelle de renseignements

État de l'évolution de l'actif net du régime

Les droits résiduels doivent être pris en compte dans l'état de l'évolution de l'actif net (lignes 301 à 333).

Les sommes versées ou à verser à la caisse de retraite pour acquitter les droits résiduels constituent une source d'augmentation de l'actif, peu importe leur échéance. Elles doivent être inscrites à la ligne 309.1 « Sommes requises pour acquitter les droits résiduels » de la déclaration. Les intérêts sur ces sommes pour l'exercice financier visé par la déclaration doivent être indiqués dans la déclaration aux lignes 311 à 313 « Autres sources d'augmentation »; dans ce cas, le libellé « Intérêts sur les sommes requises pour acquitter les droits résiduels » doit être utilisé.

Lorsque l'administrateur acquitte en partie les droits des participants, l'actif net du régime doit être réduit du montant total de la valeur de ces droits, c'est-à-dire les droits payés et les droits résiduels à payer. Le montant total doit être réparti entre les lignes 322 « Transferts dans un régime complémentaire de retraite » et 323.1 « Autres transferts ou remboursements (sommes immobilisées et non immobilisées) ».

Finalement, les intérêts annuels sur les droits résiduels doivent être indiqués aux lignes 326 à 328 « Autres sources de diminution »; dans ce cas, le libellé « Intérêts sur les droits résiduels » doit être utilisé.

Actif net

Les droits résiduels doivent être pris en compte dans l'actif net (lignes 336 à 378).

Les sommes à recevoir à la caisse de retraite pour acquitter les droits résiduels constituent des créances du régime, peu importe leur échéance. Elles doivent être inscrites, avec les intérêts à recevoir sur ces sommes, à la ligne 362.2 « Somme à recevoir, incluant les intérêts, pour acquitter les droits résiduels ». Elles doivent être présentées à cette ligne jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient versées à la caisse de retraite, et des intérêts doivent s'y ajouter à chaque exercice financier.

Les sommes à payer aux participants pour l'acquittement des droits résiduels constituent un passif du régime, peu importe leur échéance. Elles doivent être indiquées à la ligne 372.1 « Droits résiduels à payer, incluant les intérêts », avec leurs intérêts accumulés à la date de la fin de l'exercice. Elles doivent être présentées à cette ligne jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient entièrement payées, et des intérêts doivent s'y ajouter à chaque exercice financier.

Exemple 1 : La valeur des droits est transférée en proportion du degré de solvabilité et il n'y a aucun droit résiduel.

Denis cesse sa participation active au régime le 31 janvier. Il demande le transfert de la valeur de ses droits dans le régime complémentaire de retraite de son nouvel employeur dans les 90 jours qui suivent la réception de son relevé de départ.

Le régime ne prévoit pas l'acquittement de la valeur des droits à un niveau supérieur au degré de solvabilité du régime. Au 31 janvier, ce degré est de 75 %, et ses droits valent 100 000 $. Une somme de 75 000 $ seulement (75 % x 100 000 $) peut être transférée à son nouveau régime. La transaction est finalisée à la fin de l'exercice financier.

Dans la déclaration annuelle de renseignements au 31 décembre, les renseignements sur Denis doivent être présentés ainsi : 

Numéro de la ligne Libellé de la ligne Montant
322Transferts dans un régime complémentaire de retraite75 000 $

Exemple 2 : La valeur des droits peut être transférée en totalité.

Lucie cesse sa participation active au régime le 31 mars. Elle demande le transfert de la valeur de ses droits dans un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) dans les 90 jours qui suivent la réception de son relevé de départ.

Le régime prévoit que les participants ont le droit de transférer la valeur totale de leurs droits lors d'une cessation de participation active. Au 31 mars, le degré de solvabilité applicable est de 80 %, et la valeur totale de ses droits est de 200 000 $. Elle a donc droit à un acquittement initial de 160 000 $ (80 % x 200 000 $) et à des droits résiduels de 40 000 $.

Pour que les droits résiduels qui lui reviennent soient transférés dans le CRI, une somme de 40 000 $ devra être versée à la caisse du régime.

Dans la déclaration annuelle de renseignements au 31 décembre, les renseignements sur Lucie doivent être présentés ainsi :

Numéro de la ligne Libellé de la ligne Montant
309.1Sommes requises pour acquitter les droits résiduels 40 000 $
311 à 313Intérêts sur les sommes requises pour acquitter les droits résiduels200 $
323.1Autres transferts ou remboursement (sommes immobilisées et non immobilisées)200 000 $
326 à 328Intérêts sur les droits résiduels200 $
362.2Sommes à recevoir, incluant les intérêts, pour acquitter les droits résiduels 40 200 $
372.1Droits résiduels à payer, incluant les intérêts40 200 $

Références

Références juridiques

Autres références

  • Haut de la page